Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by 2ys4you
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This granola is totally addictive. I added about a cup of chopped almonds, and about 1 cup of each dried cherries, dried apricots and raisins. I cooked it 2hrs, stirring every 15-20 minutes. I also used equal parts of banana and prunes, not dates, and added some coconut. YUM! You can add exactly the type of add-ins that you like! it also keep for a very long time in a Ziplock bag. I'm not the type of person who eats the same thing every day, so I've had my last batch for at least 4 weeks now and it's still just as delish as it was on day 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Great texture, really tasty. Used regular (not quick) oats and more cinnamon. Finished granola was equal parts oat mixture and mixture of raisins, dried cranberries, and toasted halved almonds. Keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
My first attempt making homemade granola was guided by this recipe. I liked the idea of using mashed fruit in place of oil. (I had figs on hand, so I used those in place of dates and added more brown sugar.) Since I had enough for two batches, I baked the first batch as written. The granola browned on the edges but seemed to be getting hard not crispy. There's a difference. For the second batch, I simply mixed in 1/4 cup of canola oil and baked it at 275, checking on it every 10 min. It turned a rich brown color and was crispy and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Great recipe. Been making this for over a year. My family eats a batch in a week. Love the sweetner of bananas and dates, I replace the the brown sugar with date sugar. If I slack off and don't make it for a week, my loved ones quickly remind me. Depending on availability and economy, I sometimes boil date pieces in the water to soften them up first. They work equally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Have made this recipe for years and once made it and gave it in nice packages as gifts for Christmas. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENSOLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This granola is absolutely wonderful! Plus, it's super healthy! I do make some changes to suit our taste ... I use three bananas and leave out the dates and dried mixed fruit (just use raisins.) I increase the cinnamon to 2 tsp. and add 1 tsp. salt. The rest of the recipe I follow as listed. It takes 1 hr. 45 min. at 250 degrees. Make it once and you won't be able to live without always having some on hand!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
After reading the reviews, I thought that I would give this a try. I twicked the recipe alittle bit, by adding alot of honey,probably about 1 cup. I perfer a sweeter granola. One of the reviews said to cook at 275, I would NOT recommended that, it cooks faster than its suppose to, my first batch came out really browned, while the second batch came out perfect at 250 degrees. Also, I stirred it in intervals of 15 minutes for the first two times, than switched down to every 10 minutes. Took only 1 hour for me. Granola has a banana flavor, but its not strong. I also added cranraisins and almonds. All in all, its pretty good, husband said it was chewy, maybe I didn't cook it long enough, but was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Thank you Susan, this is a wonderful recipe, will never buy boxed again! I would recommend taking at least 5 minutes to mix the dry and wet ingredients together for the best texture and distribution of flavors. I also prepare it on parchment lined tins in a 250 degree convection bake oven, and stir it with a spaghetti fork, works for me. Keeps fresh and crunchy in rubbermaid containers in the freezer too. Just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I was looking for an alternative to the gourmet granolas that you find at grocery stores. This is a great recipe and it is very flexible to ammendments. I didn't use 8 full cups of the oats, as I wanted a clumpier granola. I did add a bit of maple syrup thinking that it may need a binding agent, but I am not sure that it is neccesary. The first time I made it I cooked it for 2 hours simply because everybody suggested so. The second time I only cooked it for 1 1/2 hours and it is perfect as it does dry out and harden up a bit as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catiebrooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This granola is GREAT! I toasted the almonds, added flaked coconut, dried blueberries, cranberries and apricots. My husband loves it too! The smell is even to die for. It took about 2 hours with stirring every 15 min to get crunchy. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States