Granola Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
We used 3.5 C oats, 1.25 C 10 grain cereal (germ, bran, flax, etc) and .75 C raisins plus 1.5 C peanut butter and 1 C honey and 1 T cinnamon. Healthy and compared to other high-end bars, inexpensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Easy peasy...fun to change and make it "unique" for each palate in the house. One kid likes nuts fruit, and seeds, the other only likes seeds and dried cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I changed this up to my tastes and based on what I had on hand. Did not use raisins, wheat germ, honey, butter or chocolate chips. I added 1/2 c. ground flax, 1tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp of cloves, 1tbl cinnamon, 1/2 c apple sauce, 1/2 c. brown sugar, 1 tbl molasses and canola oil instead of the butter. I ended up using my hands to mix this up. This is a very forgiving recipe. I didn't measure most of the ingredients. The sunflower seeds were toasted unsalted and the sesame seeds I used were not toasted. Since I used the sugar and not the honey, I added the applesauce for the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
We really like these bars. Next time I'm gong to try dried blueberries and a bit of white chocolate instead of the raisins and choc. chips. I bought crushed flax seed at the store for this go 'round. My daughter said she really likes them, and they are "really filling".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
What an awesome recipe!!! My son is peanut allergic so instead of peanut butter I cooked about 2-3 cups of dates in water on the stove until a mushy consistency, then cooled it before mixing with the other ingredients. I'll never buy granola bars again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Other reviews seemed to indicate that crumbliness was a problem, so I melted chocolate with the butter and mixed it in with everything else. This seemed to bind it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe. You have to grind the flax seeds to get the nutritional benefits from it, so I ground them in a coffee grinder. I also used crunchy peanut butter and WAY LESS chocolate chips - I used maybe a handful. I spread the chips on the top of the bars after they cooked, then popped them back in the oven so the chips would soften and melt (about five minutes). Then I used a spatula to spread the chocolate around. This is one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Mine fell apart when i tried to cut them up. Next time ill try adding some apple sauce or banana as a binder. The flavor is good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Excellent bars! I feel good giving them to my family since they have a lot of healthy ingredients. I did change it a bit to give the bars a little more protein and I will sometimes eat them after a workout. I added sliced almonds & diced pecans (in lieu of the sesame seeds and raisins), added a scoop of chocolate protein powder (optional), and rather than melting choc chips, I just mixed about 6 ounce of mini choc chips in before baking. I bake 15-20 min and they are done! Thanks for the great foundational recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVBNMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Very yummy. I didn't have wheat germ, oat bran, or flax seeds, so I added extra sunflower seeds and oats. It still was delicious. I also added some cracked wheat, but that was a bad idea -- it's too hard. I'm not sure what I was thinking there. Anyway, it's a great recipe that I will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States