Granola Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
great recipe, also extremely easy to make, adding a bit of coconut or some pumpkin seeds is a nice add on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Delicious recipe! I didn't have all the stuff, so tweaked it a bit. I used pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, coconut, and flax seed. I also didn't have butter, so I used oil. The second time through I tweaked it more to create a still healthier snack. The original was sweet more like a dessert, so I cut the honey to a 1/2 cup, and changed the butter to all applesauce. Then I mixed in a few chocolate chips into the batter, rather than spreading more on top. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Delicious homemade snack/quick breakfast. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy JF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I used 1 cup of almond butter and half a cup of peanut butter. No wheat germ, I added 1/3 cup of shredded coconut and 1 tbs of chia seeds. I also ground the flax seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Super tasting, filling, healthy snack. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Spectacular!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
My daughter (2yo) and I LOVED these! I halved the recipe and used different seeds and nuts from the store. I skipped the butter and used two ripe bananas and an egg yolk. I only used a small amount of chocolate chips. Instead of honey, I used agave. All the seeds/nuts were chopped. My bars weren't crumbly, they were more like a cookie. I'll keep making these all the time! You don't really need that much chocolate, btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red_fish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Wonderful tasting for how healthy they are! You'd never taste that I used olive oil for the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I followed the suggestion of one reviewer and mixed the chocolate chips in with the other ingredients. I cut them into pieces of different sizes and wrapped each individually in cling wrap paper. When one of the family is in a rush (overslept or just need something quick before they run out the door) they choose whatever size fills the bill and put it in a purse or jacket pocket to eat on the way. Great to pack along for afternoon energy boost. Easy to bring along on the sailboat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Incredibly awesome! I have made the "Playgroup Granola Bars" from this website for a few years now, and while we liked them, they were always a little too dry and crunchy for our tastes, and a few were always left to get moldy instead of eaten, which was a big waste. I didn't have oat bran, so I upped the flax to 1/2 c. or so, and I ground it in a coffee grinder (you have to grind flax to get the nutrients from it). I buy sesame seeds in bulk, so I dry toasted my own in a skillet till they started making a "pop" noise. I was out of raisins and only had crunchy peanut butter on hand. My only other change was that I bought peanut butter/chocolate swirl chips in the baking aisle and just threw them in with the rest of the ingredients, rather than coating the top with chocolate. I wanted something my hubby could take on the go with him, leave in the car, etc. without melting all over everything. All that said, I am still stuffed from dinner, but I wander over to the counter every 10-15 minutes to snitch another crumb because these are just so good. My boys are going to love these, and I won't return to the other recipe ever again (sorry ol' Playgroup! You were a faithful friend... till now). I love all the healthy grains, and that my boys are getting some good protein and fats from REAL butter and peanut butter. Easily edited to incorporate any of our favorite dried fruits or grains - we will be making many variations of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States