Granola Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
i usually dont leave a review when i change the recipe this much but the end product was soooooo good i just had too. i used all the same proportions given but replaced alot of ingredients. i used 1c oats, 1c granola cereal. 1/3 chia seeds. 1/4 sesame. 1/2 all bran buds. 1/4 flax seed. i used natural almond and cashew butter. and used 80% dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
These are amazingly delicious with tons of flavor and texture. My husband can't stop eating them. The only thing I did different is mix the chocolate chips in with the rest and that was just laziness on my part. It's taken years to find a perfect recipe and this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWEETJAM
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
The jury is still out on this one. They have a nice flavor to them. The only thing I'm not sure about is the chocolate. I thought these would be the perfect snack for my husband when he hikes and bikes, but I think the chocolate topping might make them hard to manage. I followed the recipe exactly the only thing I did different is not melt the chocolate chips I just sprinkled them on top of the bars and stuck them back in the oven for a minute then spread them. One less thing to clean. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe. You have to grind the flax seeds to get the nutritional benefits from it, so I ground them in a coffee grinder. I also used crunchy peanut butter and WAY LESS chocolate chips - I used maybe a handful. I spread the chips on the top of the bars after they cooked, then popped them back in the oven so the chips would soften and melt (about five minutes). Then I used a spatula to spread the chocolate around. This is one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great recipe! I eat these after a workout or while on a hike. I use a variation of dried fruit, and I use ground flax seed instead of the whole seeds. I used soy nut butter for peanut butter due to allergies, and applesauce instead of oil. Dark chocolate on the top and what a rocking bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
It was a little too sweet for my taste. The second time I cut back on the honey and added and egg white to help replace the moister and hold it together. I also suggest using flax seed meal or just grind up the flax seed or you will not digest the nutrients from the flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Excellent bars! I feel good giving them to my family since they have a lot of healthy ingredients. I did change it a bit to give the bars a little more protein and I will sometimes eat them after a workout. I added sliced almonds & diced pecans (in lieu of the sesame seeds and raisins), added a scoop of chocolate protein powder (optional), and rather than melting choc chips, I just mixed about 6 ounce of mini choc chips in before baking. I bake 15-20 min and they are done! Thanks for the great foundational recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVBNMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Mine fell apart when i tried to cut them up. Next time ill try adding some apple sauce or banana as a binder. The flavor is good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
We really like these... I chose this recipe because it doesn't have any flour in it, which many other granola bar recipes did have. I used agave nectar instead of honey and chopped walnuts and pecans instead of sesame seeds since that's what I had on hand, and it turned out good. These were a little crumbly, but had great flavor. I mixed about 3/4 of the chocolate chips in and spread the rest on top. Yum! I'm making again right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I used this recipe for my first time making granola/energy bars and they came out great. I made quite a few changes, such as substituting the raisins with chopped dates, currants, and adding broken-up pretzel sticks to give the bars a little crunch. I read mentions from a few reviews that the bars were too soft and unmanageable, so in response to that I made sure that the mixture was well-pressed in the pan. I also left the bars in to cook for longer than the recipe called for, about 25 mins, and this hardened them quite a bit. Still chewy, intact, and moist enough. Thanks for a great recipe! For now on, I will be making my own bars rather than buying them from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreacooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States