Granola Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
These are amazingly delicious with tons of flavor and texture. My husband can't stop eating them. The only thing I did different is mix the chocolate chips in with the rest and that was just laziness on my part. It's taken years to find a perfect recipe and this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWEETJAM
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
The jury is still out on this one. They have a nice flavor to them. The only thing I'm not sure about is the chocolate. I thought these would be the perfect snack for my husband when he hikes and bikes, but I think the chocolate topping might make them hard to manage. I followed the recipe exactly the only thing I did different is not melt the chocolate chips I just sprinkled them on top of the bars and stuck them back in the oven for a minute then spread them. One less thing to clean. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I did as Mel and put the chocolate chips in with the rest of the mix. This is a soft granola bar and seems to fall apart some. I had to use chunky peanut butter and wheat bran since that's what I had on hand. The flavor is good but seemed a bit on the salty side for me, next time I will not put in the salt. I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
i usually dont leave a review when i change the recipe this much but the end product was soooooo good i just had too. i used all the same proportions given but replaced alot of ingredients. i used 1c oats, 1c granola cereal. 1/3 chia seeds. 1/4 sesame. 1/2 all bran buds. 1/4 flax seed. i used natural almond and cashew butter. and used 80% dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I used this recipe for my first time making granola/energy bars and they came out great. I made quite a few changes, such as substituting the raisins with chopped dates, currants, and adding broken-up pretzel sticks to give the bars a little crunch. I read mentions from a few reviews that the bars were too soft and unmanageable, so in response to that I made sure that the mixture was well-pressed in the pan. I also left the bars in to cook for longer than the recipe called for, about 25 mins, and this hardened them quite a bit. Still chewy, intact, and moist enough. Thanks for a great recipe! For now on, I will be making my own bars rather than buying them from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreacooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made these bars for the fist time and my husband and I both loved them. The only thing that I did differently was to substitute the raisins for almonds. Neither one of us like raisins and we thought that the almonds would give them a good crunch, which it did. The only thing that I will change for next time is to leave them in the oven longer probably 25-30 minutes. We will definitly be using this recipe and not buying store bought. Great breakfast and snack when you are on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Made these to add some fiber to my diet. I did have to substitue a little, but i thought the flavor was great, and great crunchy texture with the seeds. The flax seed i had was ground, i used wheat bran instead of oat bran, and i didn't have any wheat germ so i used quinoa flakes (the kind you add water to for instant cereal). I also just sprinkled the choco chips on top, let them melt a little and then smeared them. Very tasty, my only complaint was how crumbly they are. Very messy. But this could be from the quinoa flakes that would have sucked up some moisture. Curious if anyone else had a crumbly problem. All in all, i'd make these again, maybe add a dab of applesauce for moisture. And my 6 year old loved them and ate one with his Pops this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
SOOO GOOD!! I couldn't stop eatng it before I cooked it!! I did change it a little because I didn't have wheat germ or oat bran on hand. I added an extra half cup of oatmeal and increased the flax to a half cup. Really really good!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beulah, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
We really like these... I chose this recipe because it doesn't have any flour in it, which many other granola bar recipes did have. I used agave nectar instead of honey and chopped walnuts and pecans instead of sesame seeds since that's what I had on hand, and it turned out good. These were a little crumbly, but had great flavor. I mixed about 3/4 of the chocolate chips in and spread the rest on top. Yum! I'm making again right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Very yummy. I didn't have wheat germ, oat bran, or flax seeds, so I added extra sunflower seeds and oats. It still was delicious. I also added some cracked wheat, but that was a bad idea -- it's too hard. I'm not sure what I was thinking there. Anyway, it's a great recipe that I will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States