Granola Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Great recipe! I changed a few things based on what I did have on hand. The ground flax-seed is ideal (as others have mentioned). I didn't have sesame seeds,wheat germ, or oat bran but I added everything else. I don't usually buy instant oats but they worked perfectly with this recipe because of the texture. I also mixed the chocolate in and I added some goji berries and cranberries. I also added crushed almonds and crushed pecans for more crunch and protein. I also choose the peanut butter-chocolate morsels for this too. These bars were too good! I had to be careful and eat one a day because of the calorie amount. I froze half and when the refrigerated ones ran out, I replaced them from the ones in the freezer (I also grabbed the ones from the freezer occasionally and put it in my lunch pail for work...delicious by lunch time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilBit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Very well received. However the instructions do not include the sesame seeds noted in the ingredients section. They probably go in step 2. I just let the chocolate chips melt on top of the baked bars and spread. Much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I warmed the honey and butter and added chocolate chips to the mix which melted with the heat of the honey and butter when it was mixed. Really yummy. Secondly as much as I like sesame I think I will cut back on the amount next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
BOY OH BOY ARE THESE YUMMY!! I HAD TO IMPROVISE A BIT TO USE WHAT I HAD ON HAND! I USED SUGAR FREE MAPLE SYRUP INSTEAD OF HONEY WHEAT BRAN INSTEAD OAT BRAN I ALSO THREW IN ABOUT 1/2 CUP OF GRANOLA CEREAL AND INSTEAD OF SEASAME SEEDS I ADDED PEANUTS AND CRANBERRY'S INSTEAD OF RAISINS...LOL NOTING LIKE CHANGING THE WHOLE RECIPE GEEZ SORRY!! I DO PLAN ON MAKING THESE AS WRITTEN WHEN I GET ALL THE CORRECT INGREDIENTS!! THESE BARS ARE MARVELOUS! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
These are so dense, nutritionally! Cut them small. I didn't have enough peanut butter so I used half peanut butter and half tahini; didn't have the oat bran so I left it out; used dry roasted peanuts instead of sunflower seeds. Overall they came out really well, although a bit more sticky due to the tahini. Very good. We're freezing half of them and individually wrapped the rest in wax paper and are keeping them in the fridge. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
These are more Daley than other granola bars, which is what I wanted, but they are still pretty heavy feeling. Have good staying power in terms of sticking to your ribs. I used whole wheat flour and halved the honey. I also used 1/4 cup oil and a cup of applesauce. Next time I think I'd use a cookie sheet so they are a little thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Wow! These are great! I didn't have honey, so I used coconut nectar. I was out of wheat germ, so I used extra oat bran. I added a tablespoons of chia seeds. I used chunky peanut butter, and it's good. These bars will be nice to have on the hiking trail. Thanks, Rathbun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Like most of the reviews i made changes.oatmeal,flax meal,buckwheat flour,cashews,ground raw almonds,pecans,sunflowerseeds,cinnamon,ginger,hemp oil,honey peanutbutter,chopped up a 85% caco dark chocolate bar,cocoa powder,i went organic on what i could,mixed together and added applesause to add moisture , didnt really measure anything just had fun with what i had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Just made these! They are really good, except there is too much cinnamon for us. Next time, I will cut the cinnamon to 1 tsp. Otherwise, they are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
VERY yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States