Granola Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I warmed the honey and butter and added chocolate chips to the mix which melted with the heat of the honey and butter when it was mixed. Really yummy. Secondly as much as I like sesame I think I will cut back on the amount next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
BOY OH BOY ARE THESE YUMMY!! I HAD TO IMPROVISE A BIT TO USE WHAT I HAD ON HAND! I USED SUGAR FREE MAPLE SYRUP INSTEAD OF HONEY WHEAT BRAN INSTEAD OAT BRAN I ALSO THREW IN ABOUT 1/2 CUP OF GRANOLA CEREAL AND INSTEAD OF SEASAME SEEDS I ADDED PEANUTS AND CRANBERRY'S INSTEAD OF RAISINS...LOL NOTING LIKE CHANGING THE WHOLE RECIPE GEEZ SORRY!! I DO PLAN ON MAKING THESE AS WRITTEN WHEN I GET ALL THE CORRECT INGREDIENTS!! THESE BARS ARE MARVELOUS! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
These are so dense, nutritionally! Cut them small. I didn't have enough peanut butter so I used half peanut butter and half tahini; didn't have the oat bran so I left it out; used dry roasted peanuts instead of sunflower seeds. Overall they came out really well, although a bit more sticky due to the tahini. Very good. We're freezing half of them and individually wrapped the rest in wax paper and are keeping them in the fridge. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
These are more Daley than other granola bars, which is what I wanted, but they are still pretty heavy feeling. Have good staying power in terms of sticking to your ribs. I used whole wheat flour and halved the honey. I also used 1/4 cup oil and a cup of applesauce. Next time I think I'd use a cookie sheet so they are a little thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Wow! These are great! I didn't have honey, so I used coconut nectar. I was out of wheat germ, so I used extra oat bran. I added a tablespoons of chia seeds. I used chunky peanut butter, and it's good. These bars will be nice to have on the hiking trail. Thanks, Rathbun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Like most of the reviews i made changes.oatmeal,flax meal,buckwheat flour,cashews,ground raw almonds,pecans,sunflowerseeds,cinnamon,ginger,hemp oil,honey peanutbutter,chopped up a 85% caco dark chocolate bar,cocoa powder,i went organic on what i could,mixed together and added applesause to add moisture , didnt really measure anything just had fun with what i had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Just made these! They are really good, except there is too much cinnamon for us. Next time, I will cut the cinnamon to 1 tsp. Otherwise, they are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
VERY yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
WOW! I have to say, THESE ARE FANTASTIC! I used steel cut oats because it was what I had and because others warned about the sweetness, cut the honey to 3/4 c and used a cup of peanut butter. I did however, have a problem with them falling apart(due to decrease in honey and peanut butter?maybe?) but the TASTE IS UNREAL! Totally satisfied my sweet tooth :) Thank you for sharing your recipe! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
It crumbled really easily and was difficult to get out of the pan. I didn't end up using the chocolate chips because it was midnight and I was really tired. The tast was good, but needed a touch of sweetness so next time I will definitly use the chocolate chips. I'm a beginner cook so I'm not sure what to use to help it "stick" better, but the taste is good and I will try some of the other tips for the stickiness. The sheriff's deputy's I made them for loved them so that's all that matters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States