Granola-Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Great recipe, but I reduced the butter(used margarine) to 3/4 cup, and DO NOT grease the pan--I think this is why everyone's cookies are coming out so flat. I also used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, and 1 cup regular flour. Instead of 1 cup chocolate chips, I used about 2/3 cup chocolate chips and 1/3 cup raisins, and added no nuts (my granola had nuts). I found they only need to bake for 10-12 minutes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Absolutely *perfect* cookies with a few little changes: Used 3/4 cup of margarine instead of 1 cup butter. Increase flour to 1 3/4 cups (equal portions of flour and granola), and drop by rounded teaspoon without flattening cookies. I also used 1/4 cup of Skor chipits and 3/4 cup of chocolate chips instead of the full cup of chocolate chips. 12 minutes was just the right timing. I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Fabulous! I didn't have any unsalted peanuts so I used some chopped cashews and almonds, which were already in my homemade granola. Tasted great! Eat warm out of the oven with a glass of milk. Note: I only needed about 10 - 11 mins. to bake. Thanks for a great recipe, "K"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Wow. These are AMAZING. The taste is absolutely fantastic. We used pecans instead of peanuts, but everything else was exactly the same. The granola we used was nice and chunky. The cookies were baked to perfection at 13 minutes. Like another reviewer said, they are chewy and crunchy at the same. Absolutely delicious! This recipe is a total keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
My first tray of cookies came out flat like a previous reviewer described. So I added 3/4 cup flour to the remaining batter. The rest turned out rounded. I took these cookies to work and most everyone liked the flat ones the best! If I make them again, I will add only 1/4 cup flour to the 1 1/2 cups already called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Delicious! I reduced white sugar to 1/2 cup and baking time to 8 minutes. Next time will add more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Good flavor. A little sweet even though I cut the sugar down a 1/4 C. I think I will add 1/2 C more flour next time. After the first batch I turned the oven down to 350 and baked for only 10 minutes. The cookies were too thin and started to burn at 12 min at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESSELMJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Yum! IThe only change I made was to use walnuts instead of peanuts. They were very tasty cookies, chewy and cruchy at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
Only ok. This recipe probably depends on which granola you use. My granola was fairly powdery and mostly oats, maybe something sweeter or crunchier would be better. As it was the cookies were like somewhat fancy chocolate chip cookies. They were totally flat but had the normal cookie texture. Leave plenty of space between cookies on tray and don't push down at all, just drop. Followed recipe exactly except I acidentally almost melted the butter instead of just softening. Only took 10 minutes to bake, would have burnt by 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These cookies were a great way to use the homemade granola that we made a few days ago but were sick of. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States