Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
The original recipe is amazing! I tried making this recipe a little healthier by substituting applesauce for the oil, but the granola bars just got a funny chewy texture to them. I also decreased the brown sugar to 1/4 c and I like the sweetness a little more. I think next time I'll make 1/4 c oil & 1/4 c applesauce. Otherwise, this is such a great recipe, don't change it if you don't want to! (I'm a nutrition major so I always try to make recipes healthier, but it may take away from the original results.) Thanks for the great recipe, Ilene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
The first time around I used the full 3/4 cup brown sugar and I personally thought it was too sweet, but all the women at work loved them! Don't put too much weight on my mention of the brown sugar though ---- because I always lower the sugar content for my little who's only 2 yrs old. I try to make healthy snacks for her with just a touch of sweetness, not too much! So we use 1/4 cup brown sugar, but we still use ALL the honey! They are slightly moist and chewy and can be made with such a variety of nuts and dried fruits that it can always be a different batch than before!! Thanks for a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingForDummies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
There is so much to do with this recipe. I've made it 10 different ways and the best includes 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce. You can also omit the white or wheat flour by substituting OAT FLOUR instead - they still taste delicious. They are a little firmer this way, which I like, so be sure to add 2 eggs instead of 1. I also substituted flax meal for wheat germ. Best with lots of chocolate chips and dried berries! My husband asks for this every week. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
My family absolutely loves this recipe. My friend and I doubled the recipe and used a jelly-roll pan. We made 2 batches of 6 different combinations and ended up with 540 granola bars which we individually wrapped and froze. My family went through our half in a month and a half!! They are great in lunches or after school snacks. Here are the combinations we used: crushed oreo, recess pieces with peanuts, mixed dried fruit with sunflower seeds and coconut (sunshine bars), craisins and almonds, s'mores, toffee & mini chocolate chips. Some were a litte chewier than others, but all of them were delicious!! Todays new combination is nutter butter cookies with peanut butter chips on top. yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
Love this recipe. I make variations on it constantly - never the same twice. I often use up whatever open packages are left after other baking, our favorites are choc chips, raisins, slivered almonds, craisins, coconut & M&Ms. I often use corn syrup instead of honey. I sometimes substitute old fashioned oats for 1/2 the quick oats. I have recently started adding 1/3 C dry milk powder and think I will always make them that way now. I only cook them 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Wonderful recipe, thank you! I decreased the amount of honey slightly and added 1/2 cup of peanut butter and 1/2 cup chopped peanuts for a crunchier peanut butter taste; they disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This is an awesome base recipe. I made them last night and they're already half gone! Here are the changes I made: * reduced brown sugar to 1/4 cup * substituted 1/2 of applesauce for the oil * used 1 cup raisins * used 1/2 cup walnuts, sunflower seeds, chopped almonds It wasn't too sweet at all and the perfect chewiness and texture! A bit bland, though. I would suggest a darker honey or more cinnamon for more flavour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
This recipe should be in everyone's home. It is easy and quick to make. And YOU KNOW what is in it. (Two eggs make these alittle softer.) These are a quick breakfast and, too, a great snack, as well, for anyone "on the go". Thank-you, Ilene!! Pati
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I've made this recipe several times. The first was for my fourth graders as a snack, following the recipe exactly. The next two times, I experimented with dates, cranberries, almonds, and pecans. (I also used Brown sugar Splenda in one mix.) EVERY one of the combinations was a winner. I made one batch for the PTA bake sale; I've even had to give the recipe to other teachers AND my students. In my book, this is a winner not only for flavor, but for nutrition as well. My students want to know when I'll be baking them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aspiring Chef
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I forgot to add the brown sugar and I used pistacio nuts instead of walnuts. Although it was a bit crumbly they were really tasty! I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aspiring Chef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States