Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
These are VERY good! I lost both my standard recipes today....could be a blessing because these are so delicious. I may decrease sugar a bit. They are very sweet. I also doubled and used a half sheet pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These were awesome! I used dried blueberries, mini chocolate chips, and dried cranberries instead of walnuts and raisins because thats what I had on hand. Next time I will try using regular oats as opposed to quick quicking and whole wheat flour instead of white. Thanks IHARVEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I tried these-- they are easy to make... baked to 30 minutes ,then I cooled them well, but for me they were semi soft, ok I guess and very tasty..I changed the recipe,used cranraisins and from straight honey to a blend of honey and dark molasses, they are certainly sweet enough this way. Cutting is alittle tedious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Great bars!!! Very good. I had to use 1/4 c flax instead of wheat germ because I was out, and 1c oats 1 cup granola type mix including nuts, rice krispies, a little dried fruit from bars that didn't set up right. I also used half honey half corn syrup because that was what I had left. It worked out great even though I didn't have quite everything. They were nice and chewy and you could sub other things well in this. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Just made two batches, one with just choc chips and the other with walnuts and golden raisins. I felt like the amount of oats wasn't enough so I put in another cup. However, I used Agave Nectar instead of honey, and flax seed instead of wheat germ, so I'm thinking it seemed really wet because the density and texture of those ingredients isn't like what's in the original recipe. I needed to bulk it up a bit more. Agave has a much lower glycemic index and I cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup like many of the other reviewers suggested. I feel like these bars should be heartier and not such a sugar treat. But frankly, I think it was not the best decision. They could have been sweeter, chewier and less crumbly. Next time I will stick closer to the recipe provided. I'm giving 5 start regardless because it was my error. I'm sure they will be even better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Okay, but simply too oily. Also, used canola oil, whole wheat flour and Splenda granulated sugar in place of vegetable oil, AP flour and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
These were pretty good for not having peanut butter. I sub'd whole wheat flour for wheat germ and that worked out well. Made some with just crushed walnuts and some with just raisins which pleased the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Such a quick and delicious recipe. Even with half the brown sugar it still satisfies my sweet tooth. I love it with pecans, craisins, and white chocolate chips. YUM! All four of my kids love these too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Very good! I used parchment paper in my baking pan and did not spray it. After reading the previous reviews, I decreased the sugar to 1/4 cup (but next time I may increase to 1/2 cup) and used half oil and half applesauce (I'll do that again), and used 1/2 cup all purpose flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (will do that again). I also used 1/2 cup raisins and 1/4 cup dried cherries, as well as 1/4 cup chocolate chips. Next time I will use mini chips, so they will be more evenly distributed. I think I will also add more raisins/cherries/blueberries or other dried fruit, up to 1 cup. I may also increase the nuts to 3/4 cup. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It is, indeed, easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Ok first off - don't change a thing if you think you can improve the taste! These are AMAZING!!! We made various ways, but mixed dried fruit is one of our favorities. Just substitute the nuts and raisins for whatever you prefer. I even made them once with flaxseed and whole wheat flour -- SOOO good. Our 2 year old loves them, they're chewy and easy to wrap and take on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States