Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
My son, who has dairy peanut and nut allergies, wanted so badly to be able to have a granola bar that my non-baker self broke down and made him these (sans walnuts, of course). Very easy. Very versatile. Unrefined coconut sugar works very well instead of brown sugar. You can also reduce the brown sugar to about 1/4 of a cup and they're still fine. I can put anything I want in them, though raisins and chocolate chips are the reigning favorite. I use light olive oil and add 1/4 cup flax seed and 1/4 cup oat bran, and they're even kind of healthy! have to bake them in double batches every time I make them because everyone loves these, not just my son. I must have given a dozen people this recipe already. This household will never buy granola bars again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
We liked this recipe, my husband loved them, my girls were ok with it. The only thing is that they got kind of hard and would have liked them a little bit softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Tried this recipe last night, good enough but not what I want in a granola bar. Way too sweet! I am going to try some modifications and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This recipe was OK. I used chopped pecans instead of chopped walnuts,and I put in 1/4 cup of peanut butter and 1/4 cup of mashed banana instead of the oil. There was a really strong banana taste in the end, but I enjoyed them. I reduced the brown sugar just a tad, and used crushed Chex Mix instead of the wheat germ. It was oatmeal cookie like. You could definitely make these into oatmeal cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimWarriorCatLover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Delicious and the kids love them. I do a batch with mini chocolate chips, a batch with a cup of peanut butter and a batch of regular. The kids love these as snacks for school and home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Oh so good and oh so easy. Tried the recipe as is for the first batch and it was so awesome. My husband and I then started raiding our cabinets for different ingredients for another batch. We are making our list for different variations we can use. These won't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Really didn't care for this recipe. Like other members said, too cookie like. And not a good oatmeal cookie to boot. Lacking in flavor. Added extra cinnamon (to 1 tsp), added a 1/4 tsp almond extract to go with the almonds I added and still found it bland. If you like cakey bars you may like this but still go with the extra cinnamon or you won't find it flavorful enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4Six!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
i didn't add nuts or wheat germ, but it turned out ok...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crytsal Ma
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was very easy to make and very tasty! I made some modifications to the recipe. I didn't have any wheat germ so i didn't use it. Instead of vegetable oil, I used coconut oil to reduce fat. Since I'm allergic to walnuts, I added crushed natural almonds, unsalted pumpkin seeds and raisins. I'm sure whatever nuts or seeds you use it will turn out delicious. Next time I will use less sugar. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Easy to prepare. I reduced the brown sugar, used wheat bran instead of germ and added nuts and a mixture of died fruit including my own dried blueberries. Also added peanut butter. This is a good basic recipe and can be added to easily. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States