Granola Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I added 1/2 c peanuts and used applesauce instead of butter. I used 1 c fiber ! cereal instead of wheat bran. It tasted good, but didn't stick together well (that may have been because I used applesauce instead of butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This recipe was truly amazing! It was very buttery, though, and it would soften if it got too warm- but if you refrigerate it, its stays firm. That is all because of the butter! I added chocolate chips and cranberries- haf cup each- and cut the recipe in half. I also popped it in the oven for 10 minutes, then took it out, and then cut into squares and it was back in the oven for 6 minutes. Next, I let it cool for 25 minutes and put it in the refrigerator- and they were perfect! This is a great base recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Good base, here are my changes: 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar. 4 cups of oats (no other "flowers") twice the amount of cinnamon, add 1 cup raisins. Baked for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made the recipe as follows, but I halfed the sugar. I pressed mixture using a 1 cup measure into a foil lined 9x13 and baked it for 20 minutes. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes. Holding both ends of foil I removed from pan and placed on the counter. Cut into bars and let cool on rack for another 10 minutes. These were very greasy. I played the bars on paper towels to absorb the excess butter, twice. They are great bars however next time I will try less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Fantastic recipe, I added 1/2 cup raisins, 1/2 cup chopped, raw, almonds and a half a peach, pureed; it is like eating a peach cobbler for breakfast! The wife and kids loved it too. Although like others, I had a hard time getting it to stick together,I just cut a "bar", scooped the chunks into a bowl, added some milk and heat in the microwave; best granola cereal I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuddhaDude

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I loved this recipe. I only used a little less than a cup of the brown sugar and added a teaspoon of almond extract in addition to the vanilla. I only baked mine for 6 minutes and they didn't get hard. I pressed them after taking them out of the oven and cut them while they were hot. They were fabulous! Oh and I didn't have bran, so I used a Cinnamon Life cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great outcome! This was precisely what I was looking for. Using other readers' reviews I made sure to melt the liquid ingredients first (stovetop). Used only 1/2 cup sugar mixed with some splenda, and only used half cup butter filling the rest with unsweetened apple sauce and some pure organic coconut butter. I did put more than double the cinnamon because my family loves it, added some nutmeg too. To the dry ingredients I added half a cup organic Soy flour to keep things stuck together. Once I had my wet ingredients in a sauce, I poured over the dry ones (mix well if you mix this by hand, all the dry stuff needs to stick together in the end). I added goodies to my bars: pumpkin + sunflower+ flax seeds, walnuts and sesame as well as some gourmet dark chocolate chunks. Pressed the mixture tightly into a glass baking dish, baked 10 minutes, removed and cut, then baked another 10 minutes. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
It was a really good granola bar. We decided to play with it though. We didn't add the baking soda, replaced the butter with peanut butter, added nutmeg, nuts, and dehydrated fruit and turned it into cereal! We haven't bought any cereal from the store since!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
These granola bars were good but hard. First time I made them I let the cool, and then I cut them but they were to hard to cut. Second time I made them I cut them before they cooled all the way but then they were to hard to bite. I do not know if it is just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleina Cassian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
The flavor of these was good but WAY too sweet. I would make them again because they are so easy but I will cut the sugar in half. Also, they didn't stick together at first. I had to return them to the oven for an additional 10 mintues which did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States