Granola Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Great recipe. I made it exactly as written the first time. The kids loved them, but I thought they were a bit too sweet. I cut the sugar in half, and they were perfect. I've used Sucanat in place of sugar with great results. I do bake them a bit longer, maybe 20 minutes, to get them crisper. Overall, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great outcome! This was precisely what I was looking for. Using other readers' reviews I made sure to melt the liquid ingredients first (stovetop). Used only 1/2 cup sugar mixed with some splenda, and only used half cup butter filling the rest with unsweetened apple sauce and some pure organic coconut butter. I did put more than double the cinnamon because my family loves it, added some nutmeg too. To the dry ingredients I added half a cup organic Soy flour to keep things stuck together. Once I had my wet ingredients in a sauce, I poured over the dry ones (mix well if you mix this by hand, all the dry stuff needs to stick together in the end). I added goodies to my bars: pumpkin + sunflower+ flax seeds, walnuts and sesame as well as some gourmet dark chocolate chunks. Pressed the mixture tightly into a glass baking dish, baked 10 minutes, removed and cut, then baked another 10 minutes. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I thought this recipe was great. Very easy to make. I added chopped almonds, sunflower seeds, raisins, & dried cranberries. The bars to not stay together well, but you can crumble up the granola and sprinkle over yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Yoshida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
It was a really good granola bar. We decided to play with it though. We didn't add the baking soda, replaced the butter with peanut butter, added nutmeg, nuts, and dehydrated fruit and turned it into cereal! We haven't bought any cereal from the store since!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I loved this recipe. I only used a little less than a cup of the brown sugar and added a teaspoon of almond extract in addition to the vanilla. I only baked mine for 6 minutes and they didn't get hard. I pressed them after taking them out of the oven and cut them while they were hot. They were fabulous! Oh and I didn't have bran, so I used a Cinnamon Life cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Fantastic recipe, I added 1/2 cup raisins, 1/2 cup chopped, raw, almonds and a half a peach, pureed; it is like eating a peach cobbler for breakfast! The wife and kids loved it too. Although like others, I had a hard time getting it to stick together,I just cut a "bar", scooped the chunks into a bowl, added some milk and heat in the microwave; best granola cereal I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuddhaDude

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This recipe was truly amazing! It was very buttery, though, and it would soften if it got too warm- but if you refrigerate it, its stays firm. That is all because of the butter! I added chocolate chips and cranberries- haf cup each- and cut the recipe in half. I also popped it in the oven for 10 minutes, then took it out, and then cut into squares and it was back in the oven for 6 minutes. Next, I let it cool for 25 minutes and put it in the refrigerator- and they were perfect! This is a great base recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
These were a good granola bar but you have to be really careful to not overcook them or they get hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Great base. I cut the sugar to a little under 1 cup. And I substituted butter for shortening and added dried cranberries. I also cooked it for double the time. I used the tip from another where they suggest heating the butter and sugar before adding to recipe to ensure stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made the recipe as follows, but I halfed the sugar. I pressed mixture using a 1 cup measure into a foil lined 9x13 and baked it for 20 minutes. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes. Holding both ends of foil I removed from pan and placed on the counter. Cut into bars and let cool on rack for another 10 minutes. These were very greasy. I played the bars on paper towels to absorb the excess butter, twice. They are great bars however next time I will try less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States