Granola Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
The only way I have ever gotten any of these granola bar recipes to stick together is to melt the butter and sweetener together over low heat on the stovetop (and drastically reduce the sugar, I might add), mix the dry ingredients in a bowl, then pour the melted butter in and mix well. If you plan to add any chips, wait for the mixture to cool to room first. Then I push the mixture into the greased pan and bake. It will seem really greasy until it thoroughly cools. Then you will have a happy, held-together granola bar. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Great recipe. I made it exactly as written the first time. The kids loved them, but I thought they were a bit too sweet. I cut the sugar in half, and they were perfect. I've used Sucanat in place of sugar with great results. I do bake them a bit longer, maybe 20 minutes, to get them crisper. Overall, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I thought my end result was a 5 but I'm not sure as written it is. I used way less brown sugar about 3/4 c and it was still really sweet. I didn't have wheat bran so i subbed 1/2 c flaxseed & 1/2 self-rising flour. My mixture would not stick together so I ended up adding an egg & a 1/2t soda. Added apricots & cranberries. I couldn't get it to spread out in a 9X13 so I used an 11X7 and cooked it about 20 minutes. End result is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
Great base recipe for granola. I added chopped almonds and dried cherries, plums and cranberries for a sweet and crunchy taste. It didn't quite keep the "bar" shape, though, so I broke it into crumbles to make a yummy homemade cereal. Thanks for the recipe, Tony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
It was really good, except I followed some of the other advice: I added a few more dry ingredients (whole wheat flour, ground flaxseed) and I baked mine twice as long. I baked them for 10 minutes, then cut them into bars and baked for 10 more minutes. After they were completely cooled, they were firm and stuck together rather well. Next time I might cut the sugar, as well - they were pretty sweet. But my kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Way too sweet, moist, and chewy to be called a granola bar. Try another recipe. Also, beware that this makes a large amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This recipe is great, although I didn't really put in all of the above ingredients because I realized I only had 3/4 cup of oats . . . ended up doing a combo of oats, oat bran, wheat germ, sesame seeds, ground flax seeds & whole wheat flour that all equaled 4 cups in place of the 3 cups oats and 1 cup wheat bran (which I didn't have at all). I added craisins to half the batch and that was good. Does anyone have suggestions on making them stick together better???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
The flavor of these was good but WAY too sweet. I would make them again because they are so easy but I will cut the sugar in half. Also, they didn't stick together at first. I had to return them to the oven for an additional 10 mintues which did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
the taste of the bar is good, but it does not stay together well, also do not bake on wax paper!! I tried thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
These granola bars were good but hard. First time I made them I let the cool, and then I cut them but they were to hard to cut. Second time I made them I cut them before they cooled all the way but then they were to hard to bite. I do not know if it is just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleina Cassian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States