Granola Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Great base. I cut the sugar to a little under 1 cup. And I substituted butter for shortening and added dried cranberries. I also cooked it for double the time. I used the tip from another where they suggest heating the butter and sugar before adding to recipe to ensure stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Good bar, but not Granola bar. Too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
It was really good, except I followed some of the other advice: I added a few more dry ingredients (whole wheat flour, ground flaxseed) and I baked mine twice as long. I baked them for 10 minutes, then cut them into bars and baked for 10 more minutes. After they were completely cooled, they were firm and stuck together rather well. Next time I might cut the sugar, as well - they were pretty sweet. But my kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
The only way I have ever gotten any of these granola bar recipes to stick together is to melt the butter and sweetener together over low heat on the stovetop (and drastically reduce the sugar, I might add), mix the dry ingredients in a bowl, then pour the melted butter in and mix well. If you plan to add any chips, wait for the mixture to cool to room first. Then I push the mixture into the greased pan and bake. It will seem really greasy until it thoroughly cools. Then you will have a happy, held-together granola bar. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This recipe is tasty and can be modified with nuts or dried fruit. By putting the granola bars into the refrigerator as soon as they are done baking, it helps the firmness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Way too sweet, moist, and chewy to be called a granola bar. Try another recipe. Also, beware that this makes a large amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This recipe is great, although I didn't really put in all of the above ingredients because I realized I only had 3/4 cup of oats . . . ended up doing a combo of oats, oat bran, wheat germ, sesame seeds, ground flax seeds & whole wheat flour that all equaled 4 cups in place of the 3 cups oats and 1 cup wheat bran (which I didn't have at all). I added craisins to half the batch and that was good. Does anyone have suggestions on making them stick together better???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I thought my end result was a 5 but I'm not sure as written it is. I used way less brown sugar about 3/4 c and it was still really sweet. I didn't have wheat bran so i subbed 1/2 c flaxseed & 1/2 self-rising flour. My mixture would not stick together so I ended up adding an egg & a 1/2t soda. Added apricots & cranberries. I couldn't get it to spread out in a 9X13 so I used an 11X7 and cooked it about 20 minutes. End result is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This is a tasty treat, but as others have said, it does not keep it's bar shape...they fall apart very easily. Still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I thought this recipe was great. Very easy to make. I added chopped almonds, sunflower seeds, raisins, & dried cranberries. The bars to not stay together well, but you can crumble up the granola and sprinkle over yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Yoshida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States