Granola Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2000
Great base recipe for granola. I added chopped almonds and dried cherries, plums and cranberries for a sweet and crunchy taste. It didn't quite keep the "bar" shape, though, so I broke it into crumbles to make a yummy homemade cereal. Thanks for the recipe, Tony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2000
I added some currents to the recipe. It turned out really good..everyone, including my 6 year old, loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Great recipe. I made it exactly as written the first time. The kids loved them, but I thought they were a bit too sweet. I cut the sugar in half, and they were perfect. I've used Sucanat in place of sugar with great results. I do bake them a bit longer, maybe 20 minutes, to get them crisper. Overall, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
the taste of the bar is good, but it does not stay together well, also do not bake on wax paper!! I tried thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
These were a good granola bar but you have to be really careful to not overcook them or they get hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I thought this recipe was great. Very easy to make. I added chopped almonds, sunflower seeds, raisins, & dried cranberries. The bars to not stay together well, but you can crumble up the granola and sprinkle over yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Yoshida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This is a tasty treat, but as others have said, it does not keep it's bar shape...they fall apart very easily. Still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I thought my end result was a 5 but I'm not sure as written it is. I used way less brown sugar about 3/4 c and it was still really sweet. I didn't have wheat bran so i subbed 1/2 c flaxseed & 1/2 self-rising flour. My mixture would not stick together so I ended up adding an egg & a 1/2t soda. Added apricots & cranberries. I couldn't get it to spread out in a 9X13 so I used an 11X7 and cooked it about 20 minutes. End result is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This recipe is great, although I didn't really put in all of the above ingredients because I realized I only had 3/4 cup of oats . . . ended up doing a combo of oats, oat bran, wheat germ, sesame seeds, ground flax seeds & whole wheat flour that all equaled 4 cups in place of the 3 cups oats and 1 cup wheat bran (which I didn't have at all). I added craisins to half the batch and that was good. Does anyone have suggestions on making them stick together better???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Way too sweet, moist, and chewy to be called a granola bar. Try another recipe. Also, beware that this makes a large amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Kennedy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States