Granola Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2000
Great base recipe for granola. I added chopped almonds and dried cherries, plums and cranberries for a sweet and crunchy taste. It didn't quite keep the "bar" shape, though, so I broke it into crumbles to make a yummy homemade cereal. Thanks for the recipe, Tony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2000
I added some currents to the recipe. It turned out really good..everyone, including my 6 year old, loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Great recipe. I made it exactly as written the first time. The kids loved them, but I thought they were a bit too sweet. I cut the sugar in half, and they were perfect. I've used Sucanat in place of sugar with great results. I do bake them a bit longer, maybe 20 minutes, to get them crisper. Overall, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
the taste of the bar is good, but it does not stay together well, also do not bake on wax paper!! I tried thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
These were a good granola bar but you have to be really careful to not overcook them or they get hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I thought this recipe was great. Very easy to make. I added chopped almonds, sunflower seeds, raisins, & dried cranberries. The bars to not stay together well, but you can crumble up the granola and sprinkle over yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Yoshida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This is a tasty treat, but as others have said, it does not keep it's bar shape...they fall apart very easily. Still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I thought my end result was a 5 but I'm not sure as written it is. I used way less brown sugar about 3/4 c and it was still really sweet. I didn't have wheat bran so i subbed 1/2 c flaxseed & 1/2 self-rising flour. My mixture would not stick together so I ended up adding an egg & a 1/2t soda. Added apricots & cranberries. I couldn't get it to spread out in a 9X13 so I used an 11X7 and cooked it about 20 minutes. End result is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This recipe is great, although I didn't really put in all of the above ingredients because I realized I only had 3/4 cup of oats . . . ended up doing a combo of oats, oat bran, wheat germ, sesame seeds, ground flax seeds & whole wheat flour that all equaled 4 cups in place of the 3 cups oats and 1 cup wheat bran (which I didn't have at all). I added craisins to half the batch and that was good. Does anyone have suggestions on making them stick together better???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Way too sweet, moist, and chewy to be called a granola bar. Try another recipe. Also, beware that this makes a large amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States