Granny's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
I only needed 3 1/2Cups of flour after the first 6 cups. Also, I would only use 1TBS. of salt; otherwise, this is a nice dense bread with a good taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
I did not need as much flour as the recipe called for, however it was still delicous and fairly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2000
Good bread recipe. I've made it several times. A basic for everyones recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2000
Good heavy potato bread. Nice crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
We Love this bread recipe! It's the only white bread recipe we use! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
YUM!! This is a fanastic bread. I made a few days ago and we love ti. It makes great toast and I can't wait to use it for French Toast. I am just learning how to bake bread and this was an easy recipe to try. Thank your Granny, Tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
i love this bread. it's the perfect everyday bread... nothing crazy...nice and plain. my husband and i love it... so does everyone else who tries it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wood Ridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This was my first time ever making bread and I cannot say enough good things about it! It's yummy, rich, and substantial enough for sandwiches. I ended up using the 3.5 cups of flour to knead the dough and get it mixed in that way and it worked out perfectly. I also used one of the three portions of dough to make some hamburger rolls. Brush the top of dough with beaten egg for a pretty, shiny crust. SUPER EASY RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Atwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I wanted a good bread recipe to use with my ham and beans and this is the best of them. We all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
amazing! only bread recipe I've tried where it doesn't turn out too heavy and it is easy for the kids to create their own creatures out of it and they keep their shape! Very moist, not hard at all! Will keep this recipe for holidays and on cold days when you want some soul food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States