Granny's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This bread came out perfectly. It's exactly right. The only thing I did was use half and half (I had no milk) and I did an egg wash. Fluffy, light and a beautiful texture. Perfect sandwich bread. FANTASTIC with butter and jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dovie2010
Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
The bread tastes great, but every single loaf had a crack down the side. I'm sure it's the fault of the baker, not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
amazing! only bread recipe I've tried where it doesn't turn out too heavy and it is easy for the kids to create their own creatures out of it and they keep their shape! Very moist, not hard at all! Will keep this recipe for holidays and on cold days when you want some soul food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Yummy bread, it gets a bit dark but it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CVan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I've tried many bread recipes in the past, and this is by far the best white bread ever!! Even my picky husband loved it. I will be making this over and over. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
wonderful bread! very easily put together , raises well , altho i didnt use as much flour, it is one of the best breads i have tried. Thanks so much for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley VW

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Huntington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This was my first time ever making bread and I cannot say enough good things about it! It's yummy, rich, and substantial enough for sandwiches. I ended up using the 3.5 cups of flour to knead the dough and get it mixed in that way and it worked out perfectly. I also used one of the three portions of dough to make some hamburger rolls. Brush the top of dough with beaten egg for a pretty, shiny crust. SUPER EASY RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
YUM!! This is a fanastic bread. I made a few days ago and we love ti. It makes great toast and I can't wait to use it for French Toast. I am just learning how to bake bread and this was an easy recipe to try. Thank your Granny, Tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This recipe took a lot of work (my arms are still throbbing) and I'm not sure it was worth it. The recipe was easy to follow and the bread was moist, but it didn't have much flavor. It was rather plain. I prefer a bread with a bit more taste. It did give me experience in bread making though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rose City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States