Granny's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is really good. I used fresh mushrooms because i prefer them to tinned. I also cooked this in my slow cooker because i'm a working single mum and don't have a lot of time to cook in the evenings. Even my daughter liked this. I served with rice and it was very filling. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This was a great recipe for cube steaks. It was full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana D'Amico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I sped up this recipie and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Have made this several times and each time my husband raves about how good it is and how much he enjoys it. I have, however, changed the method ever so slightly, in that I dump all the veggies back in the pan with a tad bit more olive oil and saute till slightly browned. I then dump them all atop the meat and sprinkle with the soup mix and oergano. I then mix the juice and ketchup and pour over all. Cover and bake for 1 hour , checking about 1/2 way through to make sure there is enough liquid. Is wonderful with baked patatoes that were put in the oven at the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
needs to be modified
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This just happens to be my granny as well. My cousin posted the recipe. I made it myself the other day and since i dont like too much of a tomato taste i didnt put any ketchup in it and i also let it cook for about 2 hours and it turned out really good. Props to my granny once again for a great recipe. I plan on getting some more of her recipes and posting them here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was probably the worst swiss steak I've ever had. I did exactly as the recipe said and no one in my family liked it. I think the ketchup gives it an odd taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This was very tasty, and the meat was really tender, but ended up with a lot of watery liquid in bottom of pan at end of cooking time. Served with mashed potatoes and corn. My husband liked it quite a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is very tasty! I did not use the peppers or onion soup. I fried first, & then put in the crock pot on low for 4 hours. It fell apart! If your meat is tough - it's not from this recipe. It's the meat you used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I thought this recipe was very good, but I did make quite a few changes. Mainly I did not use cube steaks as I don't like them. I got round steaks instead. I browned those as directed and then tossed it all in my crock pot for the day on high. I was getting scared as the meat was not getting tender but after about 7-8 hrs it started to fall apart. The flaver these ingredients infused in the meat was fantastic, you would never know it was a cheaper cut of meat. I had so much extra sauce however that next time I will use much more meat. I did give the recipe to my neighbor who hunts as I thought this would be great for him to try on venison to detract from the gamey taste. This is not the same kind of swiss steak I have had in this area before(WI) I have never had one with a tomatoe base, but it was very delicious in it's own way. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDUDETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States