Granny's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This dish would have been better with a brown mushroom gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
It was good, I didn't have tomato juice either I did as another review suggested and use tomato soup with 1/2 cup of water. I also chopped my vegetables into small pieces as well to avoid the usual " I don't like that". I also use chilli sauce instead do plain ketchup for a little kick. Son enjoyed it, and I as well. will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was delicous! Simmered it on stovetop and didn't have a green pepper or onion sop mix, o left those out. Added a little Flavor Boost packet at the end! YUMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinorcleo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
The meat was a little tough. I think if you cooked it longer it would allow the meat to tender up some. I used V8 jucie cause that is what I had on hand. I used 3/4 cup of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I sub'd a can of tomatoes instead of tomato juice and catsup, and served over brown rice. Like another reviewer, this also reminded me of dinners from my childhood. Very good and comforting. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is really good!!! It's easier to make than I thought it would be too. I made it exactly as written except that I forgot to buy mushrooms for it, so I substituted carrots. Since I like mushrooms better than carrots I'm sure it's worthy of the five stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Made it pretty much as written except for cooking it in a large deep skillet and will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellybelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crab Orchard, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Like another reviewer, I realized I didn't have any tomato juice after I started cooking. Instead I used a can of diced tomatoes. Worked great! I also added shredded carrots. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Great recipe......my change was fresh basil and stewsd tomatoes and instead of ketchup i used a can of Healthy Choice Basil tomato soup......WOW very good! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was great! I made it in a pressure cooker and it took 20 minutes. I used top round steak and a 15-oz can of tomato sauce instead of the ketchup and tomato juice. Served with corn bread. Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States