Granny's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This recipe has become a staple of my Thanksgiving menu since finding it a couple of years ago. Something that might help with the "runny" issue that some have commented on is making sure that your squash is well drained. I cut my squash in half lengthwise, scoop out the seeds and then slice into chunks. Those pieces are then cooked according to the directions and drained in a colander with a plate or bowl on top to press out excess moisture. The core of the squash tends to hold a lot of water and, in my opinion, the seeds have a bitter taste. Also, adding a beaten egg to the sour cream/soup mixture helps the whole dish to set up. Instead of putting melted butter into the dish, I save it for drizzling over the Italian dressing seasoning (that I mix with about a half cup of Italian breadcrumbs). This combo makes a nicely browned, crusty topping that is a nice contrast to the creaminess of the rest of the dish. I've also been known to use sauteed bell peppers (any color) if I'm out of pimentoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
The problem with it being too runny as some of the reviewers stated, is because it was boiled, which also takes away some of the flavor. Even when I fix squash, I put it and chopped onions in a little butter that I've melted in the skillet, put a lid on it and let it steam until almost done, I then remove the lid and let it cook until the water evaporates. You never should add water to squash, because as it steams, it makes it's own water.Also to add water, makes it mushy and takes away from the flavor. Vegetarians can add cr of mushroom, celery, or a cream soup of their choice. I also try to avoid packaged mixes with MSG, or preservatives and add my own spices. Hope this helps. Paula P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
A healthy variant of this recipe has become a Thanksgiving tradition in my family. I usually substitute low fat sour cream, Health Request cream of chicken, low fat butter, and half fat cheddar cheese (I use Cabot brand from Sam's Club). Great taste without the coronary! I also buy matchstick carrots to save some time and often throw in other veggies or ingredients on hand. In the past, I've added mushrooms, red bell pepper (instead of pimento), fresh basil, and even blue cheese (leaving out some of the cheddar). As for the problems people mention with it being too runny, I've never had that problem. I always cook it about 10-15 minutes longer than the recipe states (I live at 4500 ft.) so maybe that's why it sets up better. Otherwise, I suggest adding a bit more sour cream or cheese. I suppose you could also add more cream of chicken but I don't love condensed soup mixes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
The flavor was pretty good but I followed the recipe exactly and it came out very runny even after letting it have time to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I liked the flavour of this recipe, but it was too running. How do we thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Great recipe! I substituted half of the yellow squash with zuchinni and topped with mozzarella. My dad (huge food critic) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Absolutely fab!! I found this recipe last summer and made it for a cook out. Even people that said they did not like squash loved it. My whole family loves it, even my picky kids. Thank you so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
Absolutely fabulous! Even the kids who never even try the veggies liked this one. It's asked for a lot for Sunday dinner. thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Sounds delish, much like my mother's recipe that I have used for years. For those of you saying that is too runny, you might try "pepperidge farm" herb flavored stuffing. Mix about 2 cups with some melted butter and spread on the bottom of dish followed by a final layer of the same on top of the squash mixture and a layer of your favorite shredded cheese on top of all before baking. Almost a complete meal by itself! I usually have this as a side for pork chops. YUM Ms' Porky Pig
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was the most popular dish this Thanksgiving! It will be a must have on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States