Granny's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
Absolutely fabulous! Even the kids who never even try the veggies liked this one. It's asked for a lot for Sunday dinner. thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This recipe has become a staple of my Thanksgiving menu since finding it a couple of years ago. Something that might help with the "runny" issue that some have commented on is making sure that your squash is well drained. I cut my squash in half lengthwise, scoop out the seeds and then slice into chunks. Those pieces are then cooked according to the directions and drained in a colander with a plate or bowl on top to press out excess moisture. The core of the squash tends to hold a lot of water and, in my opinion, the seeds have a bitter taste. Also, adding a beaten egg to the sour cream/soup mixture helps the whole dish to set up. Instead of putting melted butter into the dish, I save it for drizzling over the Italian dressing seasoning (that I mix with about a half cup of Italian breadcrumbs). This combo makes a nicely browned, crusty topping that is a nice contrast to the creaminess of the rest of the dish. I've also been known to use sauteed bell peppers (any color) if I'm out of pimentoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Absolutely fab!! I found this recipe last summer and made it for a cook out. Even people that said they did not like squash loved it. My whole family loves it, even my picky kids. Thank you so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was the most popular dish this Thanksgiving! It will be a must have on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Great recipe! I substituted half of the yellow squash with zuchinni and topped with mozzarella. My dad (huge food critic) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
this is a very tasty casserole--easy to make with a food processor to chop vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I just made this recipe for the third time last night. I liked it so much that I even made it for our big Thanksgiving multi-family pot-luck last year! It's easy, tasty, and travels well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was wonderful. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This casserole was delicious!!! I will definately make it again. My whole family loved it and wanted to know how to make it. Maybe it could be make thicker by boiling the squash for a shorter period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
A healthy variant of this recipe has become a Thanksgiving tradition in my family. I usually substitute low fat sour cream, Health Request cream of chicken, low fat butter, and half fat cheddar cheese (I use Cabot brand from Sam's Club). Great taste without the coronary! I also buy matchstick carrots to save some time and often throw in other veggies or ingredients on hand. In the past, I've added mushrooms, red bell pepper (instead of pimento), fresh basil, and even blue cheese (leaving out some of the cheddar). As for the problems people mention with it being too runny, I've never had that problem. I always cook it about 10-15 minutes longer than the recipe states (I live at 4500 ft.) so maybe that's why it sets up better. Otherwise, I suggest adding a bit more sour cream or cheese. I suppose you could also add more cream of chicken but I don't love condensed soup mixes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States