Granny's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made this for a dinner for a crowd and we all loved it. I left off the salad dressing mix because I didn't have any, so I sprinkled about 10 crumbled whole wheat crackers on top instead. I also sauteed the squash and onions in the butter instead of boiling it. I had no idea what was meant by a "medium baking dish", but I used a 9 X 12, and it worked out fine. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
this was a great recipe until the italian seasoning on top! it was just too much. otherwise the flavor was great. i did cut my squash lengthwise and scoop out seeds prior to cooking, increased the cheese, and mixed the italian seasoning with panko for a crunchy topping. next time i will omit the salt. i think another part of my problem was the dish i used. the recipe doesn't specify what size dish and judging by the amount of casserole i had, i used a 8x8. i think a 9x13 would've been better and maybe the topping wouldn't have seemed so strong. but i will be trying it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryebomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
My family loved this squash casserole......... I am making it the 2nd time......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I used 1/2 yellow squash and 1/2 zucchini. I drained it well, but it was still runny. It was better the second night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I added bread crumbs to the mixture. I also substituted greek yogurt for the sour cream. Next time I will omit the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This tasted good but was very runny. I might make this again and try to thicken it with something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Sounds delish, much like my mother's recipe that I have used for years. For those of you saying that is too runny, you might try "pepperidge farm" herb flavored stuffing. Mix about 2 cups with some melted butter and spread on the bottom of dish followed by a final layer of the same on top of the squash mixture and a layer of your favorite shredded cheese on top of all before baking. Almost a complete meal by itself! I usually have this as a side for pork chops. YUM Ms' Porky Pig
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
The problem with it being too runny as some of the reviewers stated, is because it was boiled, which also takes away some of the flavor. Even when I fix squash, I put it and chopped onions in a little butter that I've melted in the skillet, put a lid on it and let it steam until almost done, I then remove the lid and let it cook until the water evaporates. You never should add water to squash, because as it steams, it makes it's own water.Also to add water, makes it mushy and takes away from the flavor. Vegetarians can add cr of mushroom, celery, or a cream soup of their choice. I also try to avoid packaged mixes with MSG, or preservatives and add my own spices. Hope this helps. Paula P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving. Absolutely delicious. Not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I would add a lot more squash next time. If slice squash thinly only need to boil it for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pickering Ford Farm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States