Granny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Excellent. This is wonderful on baked chicken. Loads of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Fantastic on toast with some olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I've made this several times now and found adding a little cumin and salt worked great with it. I made dinner for a few friends and used this rub on and under the skin of some chicken thighs, they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Used this on baked chicken. It's very traditional and inoffensive, but it feels like it needs something more. 4.5 out of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Add salt to this recipe! I added about 2 tbsp of salt and it was great. I put it on the chicken and let it sit in the refrigerator for 2 hours. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This was just fine on a boneless leg of lamb. No heat, which my wife liked and plenty of taste which we all liked. I agree that it needs salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
What is garlic pepper & what if you don't have any?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is awesome! I smoked 10 lbs of riblets and needed a rub for them. This was the best I have ever used. The flavor was delicate, which allows the smoke flavor to not be overpowered. Also, it was simple, using only ingredients in my pantry. "What is garlic pepper and what do I do if I don't have any?" Use garlic powder and black pepper (1/2 tbs of each, which increases the garlic flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I tripled the recipe because I had my own dried rosemary and sage to use up. I also added 2 TBSP of dried, chopped, lemon zest that I had on hand. Very versatile recipe. Not only can be used as a rub but I have added it to stuffing for chicken, and mushrooms. Sealed up good, can use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States