Granny's Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Big advantage.... it is easy to prepare. Tastes good with the following additions. 1. skin the chicken. 2. coat with flour in which paprika, garlic salt and pepper have been added. 3. To thicken it a bit at the end, add some flour and water to the gravy. The three cloves of garlic are JUST RIGHT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I loved this recipe it was very good my children and husband loved it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Was pretty good stuff. I used all the potatoe water, added additional seasonings and flour to taste (definately needed), and let it simmer til it had the consistency wanted. Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I loved this recipe, I am German and this reminded me of grandma's kitchen. Thank you for sharing. For a little extra taste I added some chicken stock to the water before adding it to the chicken and potatoes and also threw in some chopped green onions to the chicken while it was frying for some extra color and taste. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
bland in flavor - needed salt, added chicken boulon cube,carrots,mushrooms, onion & garlic to give it some taste. served it over a bed of rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
love it , i add some frozen mixed veggies .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Tried this last night. It was very delicious , I didnt use the cloves and it still turned out very well. I think I let it simmer to much or I didnt use enough potatoe water, cause my gravy was a little on the thick side But all in all very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I added sliced carrots and frozen corn to this concoction and used enought flour to thicken everything up so it sort of gelled together. For those who wondered how much potato water to save and use, 2 1/2 cups is plenty. I think the recipe would be quite plain w/o the added veggies. With them it's delicious - it's a southern stew thick enough to eat on a plate with a fork. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Very easy recipe. I scaled it for 2 people and used 1 cup of the water from the potatoes (adding 1/4 cup at a time) and mixed it with a couple tablespoons of the left over seasoned flour and the chicken drippings. Once the gravy turned, I just put the potatoes and chicken in and stirred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrenae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Good flavor and fairly easy to prepare. I didn't have cloves, and it tasted fine. Very "homestyle" looking. Only thing, recipe does not provide a measurement for the potato water so be careful you don't add too much. I think I added too much, but I took some of the water out and mixed it with a packaged chicken gravy mix and put it back into the pan. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSY MARAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States