Granny's Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I followed ingredients exactly, and probably had to use an extra 3/4 C. flour while kneading for dough to begin cracking. I did not roll out, but rather rolled into balls and pressed down with the bottom of a glass. Baked exactly 10 minutes and they came out perfectly. I forewent the cherries altogether. This is a wonderful shortbread that does not get too hard, and melts in your mouth. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, (except using the cherries, because I don't like them) and they turned out so good! The flavour is so good! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Tasted okay...but very floury. Tried dipping in chocolate to make it better...still floury. Will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MummyJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
These cookies were fabulous! They were soft and extremely delicious. I gave them out to a bunch of my friends and they all said they were probably the best cookies that they had ever had! I dipped them in melted chocolate chips but they would have been just as good without the chocolate chips. I highly suggest this recipe for any shortbread cookie lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I really surprised by the reviews these cookies have had since last year. These are not meant to be cutout cookies. I make these as little balls, pressed down with a cherry in the middle, and they're my favorite Christmas cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
These cookies were very floury, not buttery like shortbread should be. And they were so soft and crumbly that the shapes broke on the plate. I'll stick with my favourite brown sugar shortbread recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I have relatively no baking experience, but I made these for Mother's Day and they turned out great! The cookies tasted good plain, but I tried putting on both maraschino cherries and melted chocolate chips which were both tasty. This recipe is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I did not add the cherries however these cookies were wonderful. My boyfriend and I truly enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
These cookies made my night! quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondbuns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thamesford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I chose not to use the cherries, but rather dip half of each cookie in chocolate and let them cool on wax paper. They look professionally made and taste home baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States