Granny's Italian Zucchini Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I found this recipe years ago in an old cookbook. I mainly make it when we are serving a brunch. I follow the recipe as given, except I make it in a pie pan. I often prepare this dish the night before I am going to serve it. I will put the prepared crust in a large ziploc bag and refrigerate. I will also prepare the filling and put it in a covered bowl and refrigerate. In the morning, I fill the pie crust and bake. Because everything is cold, it needs longer to cook. Even my carnivore guests love it and go for seconds. We never have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I have a similar recipe with no spices in it. It was very bland. This recipe is the best! I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9x13 in baking dish. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherry Buckingham
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Never goes wrong. Added Portobello sliced this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Buckingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I have been making this since the Allrecipes Magazine came out with the recipe in it. I have made it many times exactly as written and everyone loves it. Today, I made it, adding some diced carrots because I had some that needed to be used. I have found that I like dijon mustard better. Other than that, it is a great recipe that can easily be modified depending on the kind of squash you have and other vegetables can be added and it is always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Arnoldsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe is incredible. The original recipe was a Pillsbury recipe contest winner back in the 1980s sometime and I have been making it ever since. That original recipe called for the Crescent rolls to be spread in a 10" glass pie dish. I have found that you can also freeze it after it is put together but BEFORE baking. Just carefully put it on a shelf in the freezer. After it freezes cover it tightly with foil. Defrost in the refrigerator and bake according to directions. This recipe will "Wow" your family too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Sapphire, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is a wonderful dish to freeze. I added ground beef but sausage would be great as well. I used large pop open biscuts, if you let them set for a few minutes two of them will spread nicely in the bottom and up the sides of an 8-9 in pie tin, this receipe makes three pies, I now have 6 in the freezer. The family loves the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Oh my gosh this is good! Even the non-squash eating kids loved it. I forgot to buy mozzarella cheese and had to sub in Monterey jack. It was still fantastic! Thanks for a super yummy recipe, Kate B :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This is a keeper! I used half zucchini and half yellow squash, and baked in a deep glass pie plate. Instead of basil and oregano, I used 1 tsp Italian seasonings (Penzey's Tuscan Sunset) and a little marjoram. I used whole grain mustard on the crust, enough to lightly coat the whole crust. Although some of the dough triangles were misshapen, I pinched all the seams together and it worked great. Don't make your crust extend too far above the dish, or else, like in the photo, the outermost edges will brown before the middle is set. A double recipe would be great for a potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a recipe I go to again and again. It's fabulous! I make it with crust or without, and have used egg beaters and reduced fat cheese. It's always good! Dont leave out the mustard! It sounds a little odd but it gives it a great flavor. I am now asked to bring this to every family get together and people raved about it at a baby shower I brought it to. Great healthy veggie dish! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I've been making this for years..it's a winner. I Caramelize the onions and use country Dijon. I've tried various cheeses too.. They are all good.. Guess my favs are a mix of muenster and Colby Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe)

A favorite Italian cheese pie.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States