Granny's Italian Zucchini Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe is incredible. The original recipe was a Pillsbury recipe contest winner back in the 1980s sometime and I have been making it ever since. That original recipe called for the Crescent rolls to be spread in a 10" glass pie dish. I have found that you can also freeze it after it is put together but BEFORE baking. Just carefully put it on a shelf in the freezer. After it freezes cover it tightly with foil. Defrost in the refrigerator and bake according to directions. This recipe will "Wow" your family too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Sapphire, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is a wonderful dish to freeze. I added ground beef but sausage would be great as well. I used large pop open biscuts, if you let them set for a few minutes two of them will spread nicely in the bottom and up the sides of an 8-9 in pie tin, this receipe makes three pies, I now have 6 in the freezer. The family loves the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Oh my gosh this is good! Even the non-squash eating kids loved it. I forgot to buy mozzarella cheese and had to sub in Monterey jack. It was still fantastic! Thanks for a super yummy recipe, Kate B :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This is a keeper! I used half zucchini and half yellow squash, and baked in a deep glass pie plate. Instead of basil and oregano, I used 1 tsp Italian seasonings (Penzey's Tuscan Sunset) and a little marjoram. I used whole grain mustard on the crust, enough to lightly coat the whole crust. Although some of the dough triangles were misshapen, I pinched all the seams together and it worked great. Don't make your crust extend too far above the dish, or else, like in the photo, the outermost edges will brown before the middle is set. A double recipe would be great for a potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a recipe I go to again and again. It's fabulous! I make it with crust or without, and have used egg beaters and reduced fat cheese. It's always good! Dont leave out the mustard! It sounds a little odd but it gives it a great flavor. I am now asked to bring this to every family get together and people raved about it at a baby shower I brought it to. Great healthy veggie dish! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I've been making this for years..it's a winner. I Caramelize the onions and use country Dijon. I've tried various cheeses too.. They are all good.. Guess my favs are a mix of muenster and Colby Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
We all loved it! The only change I made was using crumbled cream crackers for the crust.Yummi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
It was really good. I would say be sure to cook off your zucchini long enough to get some of the water out -- you don't want it to be soggy when done. You can really play with the ingredients listed; it is a unique side item most folks will really enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I made this recipe for the first time tonight, and it was such a hit. I was concerned because I used zucchini from our garden that had been blanched and frozen. No worries there, I just drained the water out, and sauteed the zucchini with the onion. Also, instead of crescent rolls, I used a ready made pie crust, the kind that comes rolled up in a box. I added all spices mentioned, and mozzeralla cheese. I was concerned about the yellow mustard but it gave the dish extra flavor.This dish with a salad makes for a perfect meal. I'll be making this dish again THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I was skeptical of this recipe because of the mustard. BUT, i followed the recipe and used real garlic(not sure why you shouldn't) I added a little pecorino Romano cheese to the top with some sliced tomatoes because i had some to use up. THIS WAS ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS AND EASY!!! HUSBAND really loved it as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States