Granny's Italian Zucchini Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I have a very similiar recipe and its fabulous. I love to make it as often as I can. Only thing is that I use dijon mustard instead but its well worth trying with yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this as a last minute dish for a dinner we were having. The only thing I didn't have in stock was mozzarella cheese, so I substituted Colby jack cheese and a small amount of Asiago cheese. I also used half zucchini and yellow squash. I didn't have an 8 X 12 sized casserole but a 7 X 11 was perfect. A very quick and easy dish to make and tasted great. Our guest couldn't stop raving about it and they are pretty picky eaters. Baked up nice in 20 minutes and had a nice texture to it that held together very well when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by gopwop
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This was excellent! We didn't have any crescent rolls, so we used canned biscuits instead. I also added more cheese than what it calls for just to use up the little I would have had left over. It ended up tasting a lot like cheesy garlic bread, just with zuchinnis mixed in. I added the photo since there wasn't one originally, so I don't know if that's what the original recipe is supposed to look like, but I followed it closely otherwise and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
this was good. I followed recipe except baked it in an 8x8 Pyrex. took about 8 minutes longer. Maybe drain the zucchini after sauteing. It was a little watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Turned out great! Used a 9 x 13 cake pan and baked for 20 mins and it was perfect. Used a zucchini and fresh basil from the garden :) Also used the dijon instead . Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I made this after I was asked to bring a dish to an pot luck. I used the basic recipe. Used honey mustard salad dressing instead of regular mustard. I added cream cheese along with the mozzarella cheese. I also threw in a left over sweet potato with the zucchini when sauteing. I also topped the entire pie with crispy bacon after it was out of the oven. Huge hit...but anything with crescent rolls, cheese and bacon is gonna be great. I used all of the required items but added stuff that I just had on hand. Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Oh my gosh this is good! Even the non-squash eating kids loved it. I forgot to buy mozzarella cheese and had to sub in Monterey jack. It was still fantastic! Thanks for a super yummy recipe, Kate B :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This is a keeper! I used half zucchini and half yellow squash, and baked in a deep glass pie plate. Instead of basil and oregano, I used 1 tsp Italian seasonings (Penzey's Tuscan Sunset) and a little marjoram. I used whole grain mustard on the crust, enough to lightly coat the whole crust. Although some of the dough triangles were misshapen, I pinched all the seams together and it worked great. Don't make your crust extend too far above the dish, or else, like in the photo, the outermost edges will brown before the middle is set. A double recipe would be great for a potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a recipe I go to again and again. It's fabulous! I make it with crust or without, and have used egg beaters and reduced fat cheese. It's always good! Dont leave out the mustard! It sounds a little odd but it gives it a great flavor. I am now asked to bring this to every family get together and people raved about it at a baby shower I brought it to. Great healthy veggie dish! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. We had it for lunch and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jasper, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States