Granny's Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I didn't really like this ice cream. To me, it was very sour and full of ice crystals. To fix this problem, I invented Granny's Ice Cream II. I used only 3 egg white instead of 4 and I used 1 cup of vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream. Thus, I omitted the vanilla. It tasted much better and tasted more like real ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Thank you so much for this recipe....I am on a sugar free diet and have not been able to enjoy ice cream in years....I used 1/4 cup of Splenda instead of sugar with one teaspoon of vanilla....This recipe is great...God bless you...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shlee
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This recipe was amazing. I added mint extract, green food coloring and chocolate chips to make a chocolate mint ice cream and everyone loved it. I am now in the middle of making a cappucinno ice cream with instant coffee and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coaldale, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
I liked this a lot! I have to admit I was skeptical--I mean, sour cream in ice cream? No need for an ice cream maker? But it was very easy and yummy, just as Daphna said. The only change I would make is that I would add a little less sugar. My personal preference is for a less sweet ice cream, but otherwise, it was great! Thanks. (Hubby loved it, by the way...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
You'd never guess this was made w/o an ice cream freezer. The flavor and texture are wonderful. I added candy pieces to it and also 2 Tbsp. of cocoa for chocolate ice cream. I also made it low-fat by adding fat-free sour cream and used powdereded egg whites instead of raw ones. Unbelievably creamy for low-fat! Just don't do like I did and make the mistake of not stirring it enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This was surprisingly good! I used half sour cream & half vanilla yogurt & added mini-chocolate chips. I made sure to stir it every 30 minutes & it came out pretty creamy. I'm going to make up another batch this weekend & make the rum raisin this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Wow, this turned out better than I thought it would! I used free range egg whites, fat free sour cream and Splenda. For mocha ice cream, I used the two teaspoons instant coffee and two tablespoons of my own homemade sugar free chocolate syrup. I had a small helping as did my kids but my husband finished off the rest. Super easy, super good. I can't wait to try more flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I made this using 3/4 c "whippin' whites" rather than regular egg whites, 1/3 c splenda for the sugar, Light Sour Cream and I added 2 tsp espresso powder. It was wonderful! My husband, who's favorite ice cream is coffee, thought it was comparable to the full fat, full sugar ones I've bought. I plan on using this recipe with peaches next. And, after that, with cocoa powder and natural peanut butter. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
THE BEST ICE CREAM EVER!!!! Wow-this recipes was awesome-so little ingredients! I used vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream-worked fine. The only thing is that i couldn't get my eggs to peak after i put the sugar in-but the ice cream still turned out fine. I loved the fact that an ice cream machine was not needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
LOVED IT! Really good and not sickenenly sweet. Oh-- used Splenda and made it low carb too! THANKS SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States