Granny's Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Awesome loved by all the family. Easy enough for kids to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I am amazed as to how yummy this turns out. It's somewhat healthier version of ice cream bought in the store. I feel much better about serving this to my kids. Our favorite is strawberry-fresh strawberries make this oh so good! Make sure to stir it frequently or you'll get ice milk instead of ice cream! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I didn't really like this ice cream. To me, it was very sour and full of ice crystals. To fix this problem, I invented Granny's Ice Cream II. I used only 3 egg white instead of 4 and I used 1 cup of vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream. Thus, I omitted the vanilla. It tasted much better and tasted more like real ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
THE BEST ICE CREAM EVER!!!! Wow-this recipes was awesome-so little ingredients! I used vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream-worked fine. The only thing is that i couldn't get my eggs to peak after i put the sugar in-but the ice cream still turned out fine. I loved the fact that an ice cream machine was not needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
It tastes like the ice cream that is leftover in a root beer float...when it has that "zing" to it. We can't wait to try variations to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
With a little tweaking this has a lot of possibilities. Per our taste, we could taste the sour cream a little too much. Next time I make I am going to reduce the sour cream, but other than that, my family really enjoyed. Thanks Daphna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
You'd never guess this was made w/o an ice cream freezer. The flavor and texture are wonderful. I added candy pieces to it and also 2 Tbsp. of cocoa for chocolate ice cream. I also made it low-fat by adding fat-free sour cream and used powdereded egg whites instead of raw ones. Unbelievably creamy for low-fat! Just don't do like I did and make the mistake of not stirring it enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Delicious!!! I made coffer ice cream like the recipie suggested, and couldn't get enough of it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Yummy! Great ice cream, the best ice cream without an ice cream maker I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I made this using 3/4 c "whippin' whites" rather than regular egg whites, 1/3 c splenda for the sugar, Light Sour Cream and I added 2 tsp espresso powder. It was wonderful! My husband, who's favorite ice cream is coffee, thought it was comparable to the full fat, full sugar ones I've bought. I plan on using this recipe with peaches next. And, after that, with cocoa powder and natural peanut butter. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States