Granny's Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Very good, however, I still need to tamper with the recipe to suit my favorite texture etc. I tried putting half nonfat yogurt and half sour cream, and it didn't taste all that great...but then I tried a little more sour cream and less yogurt and it tasted much better, I also added unsweetened cocoa powder to make a nice chocolate flavor! It is true, however, that it will turn out a little icy if you aren't true to stirring constantly for two hours...I will make this again! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KookieGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Freaking unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I added crushed Oreo cookies to mine so that we could have Cookies N' Cream ice cream. I can't wait to make this 1000 different ways! I didn't have any "ice crystals" but, I also followed the directions and stirred it every 30 minutes. What a FANTASTIC recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I made this ice cream into Mint Choc Chip. Added Mint extract in place of the vanilla. 4 Drops of green food colouring (it made it bright green, but when it came out of the freezer the colour had faded more to a very pale natural green), Chocolate crunch sprinkles and finished with chopped chocolate chips. I followed the first step as written but then used my ice cream maker, then left overnight to firm up. Nice ice cream will make it again, only negative for me it is very, very soft so melting by the time you scoop it out of the tub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I LOVE this ice cream! So amazing! I used vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream and I added coffee for flavor. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Yummy ! I used the cocoa for flavoring.I find it taste like soft ice cream. My son finds it taste more like a mousse but he loved it. I will make again soon. Easy and quick.Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was really good. It was sweet, creamy, and smooth. I would love to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Love this icecream recipe. I made it to along with the Dutch Apple Pie from this site. Still in the process of freezing. So far it's so yummy I'm tempted to used it as a more whipped cream topping versus Ice cream (personal preference) Hubby wants the icecream though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
i literally went through every recipe on this site to try to find a homemade ice cream recipe that needed no heavy cream, or an ice cream maker, and this is one of the most low-calorie, easy, and versatile. 1st batch i used splenda, vanilla yogurt, 1/2 c liquid egg whites from the carton. i didnt beat the eggs and splenda until stiff. i stirred it often and still got the ice crystal consistency but it tasted smooth and delicious anyway. i don't recommend using this recipe for vanilla, because it tasted exactly like frozen vanilla yogurt. 2nd batch, i used 1/2 yogurt and 1/2 sour cream and added 1/3 cup pumpkin, 2 T sugar, and pump. pie spice. i tried to beat the eggs until stiff, but it didnt make a diff. last batch, i used only sour cream, and added cinn. i would recommend this flavor, and i couldn't taste the sour cream. I wouldn't recommend telling people there is sour cream in it, at least not until after they eat it :](learned the hard way). at first, this recipe scared me because i HATE sour cream, but i'm definitely glad i tried it as it was masked by the flavoring in both of my batches. from now on, i will try this recipe with fat-free yogurt and fat-free sour cream, and the flavors peanut butter, key lime pie, and CAKE BATTER (my favorite :]).thank you much for this recipe!!! also, note to all, if you freeze the container you're going to make the ice cream in (i use tupperware, or old plastic containers) it does firm up faster so i would recommend doing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Today was a really hot day here and I wanted some icecream. I didn't have any heavy cream as most ice cream recipes call for. So this was awesome. I was really surprised at how yummy it was. And what a wonderful texture! I give this one a thumbs up! Thank you Granny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Awesome! Love it!!! It takes alot of work. I sub mostly yogurt for the sour cream. Try to whip it more than every half hour. My favourite so far is shaved rich dark chocolate and cherry chunks. Mmmmmmm. Finally a guilt-free ice cream! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States