Granny's Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Great recipe and so simple to make. It came out a little sweet though the first time so we reduced the amount of sugar and it was perrrfect. We even got creative and made different variations like the strawberry version (by adding about 6 pureed strawberries to the final mixture, yum!) One thing that you shouldn't ignore is mixing the ice cream every 30 minutes which gives it a creamier texture. Thanks for sharing! Recently we used this recipe to make Rose water ice cream by substituting vanilla essence and half of the sour cream with 1/4 pint of heavy cream (whipped) and 2&1/2 tsp of 100% Pure Rose Water. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
My mother who always refused to eat my ice-cream finally agreed to this! She was so worried about her cholesterol, so now thanks so much for the solution! I mixed in 1 tbs of coffee powder and 1tbs cocoa, thus created a nice mocha feeling. Will try other variety next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Super tasty! With a tangy-ness to it like those fancy froyo places that are popping up everywhere. I threw in unsweetened baking cocoa and semi-sweet chocolate chips. Made it in a metal mixing bowl and stirred about once every 20min or so. It was gone in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Wow, this turned out better than I thought it would! I used free range egg whites, fat free sour cream and Splenda. For mocha ice cream, I used the two teaspoons instant coffee and two tablespoons of my own homemade sugar free chocolate syrup. I had a small helping as did my kids but my husband finished off the rest. Super easy, super good. I can't wait to try more flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was really easy to make. I thought it tasted a lot like powdered sugar frosting (Mmmmm)! It didn't really thicken up so it was sort of soft but that's the way I like my ice cream. Next time I'm going to try it with Oreos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclarkson09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
luved it!!! so simple and easy and tasted great...the dh luved it as well coz i put crushed oreos in...my oh my...this is a great recipe to play with different flavours/add ins...i thought it better than some store bought...thanks for the recipe will be using it often...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
DELICIOUS! I just made this ice cream and it tasted great! I added cocoa powder to make a chocolate flavour, it didn't need to be stirred every half hour just dont leave it in the freezer too long. No ice crystals. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I admit that I modified this slightly, but have to review it anyway - it's just that good! I had lots of egg whites left over from making custard style ice cream - did an ingredient search - and found this recipe. I had vanilla yogurt on hand, so I used that in place of the sour cream, and reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup. I added a couple of teaspoons of instant coffee powder, and about 2 T. of shaved chocolate. It is delicious, and has so much less fat than ice cream. I will absolutely be making this often, thanks so much for sharing your family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Try using half the sugar and dulce de leche to taste. Then mix in slightly salted toasted pecans at the end, just before freezing. Very smooth and delicious! Next time I want to try maple syrup in place of the sugar, and add walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chossid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Simferopol, Crimea (Autonomous Republic), Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States