Granny's Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
I liked this a lot! I have to admit I was skeptical--I mean, sour cream in ice cream? No need for an ice cream maker? But it was very easy and yummy, just as Daphna said. The only change I would make is that I would add a little less sugar. My personal preference is for a less sweet ice cream, but otherwise, it was great! Thanks. (Hubby loved it, by the way...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I wasn't sure about making this, but my granddaughter wanted to make some ice cream so we did this one. It was great, easy to make. and it tastes great. I make it with fat free sour cream and diet sugar and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Maybe it's just our family, but we didn't care much for the flavor of it. I was rather disappointed, especially after reading the other two reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
LOVED IT! Really good and not sickenenly sweet. Oh-- used Splenda and made it low carb too! THANKS SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Thank you so much for this recipe....I am on a sugar free diet and have not been able to enjoy ice cream in years....I used 1/4 cup of Splenda instead of sugar with one teaspoon of vanilla....This recipe is great...God bless you...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
FANTASTIC & very easy. We made the coffee flavor. Can't wait to try others, but will get some Splenda that others have suggested. My husband thought it was very creamy & couldn't believe sour cream could be in it. May try using powdered egg whites instead of having egg yolks left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I made this using 3/4 c "whippin' whites" rather than regular egg whites, 1/3 c splenda for the sugar, Light Sour Cream and I added 2 tsp espresso powder. It was wonderful! My husband, who's favorite ice cream is coffee, thought it was comparable to the full fat, full sugar ones I've bought. I plan on using this recipe with peaches next. And, after that, with cocoa powder and natural peanut butter. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Yummy! Great ice cream, the best ice cream without an ice cream maker I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Delicious!!! I made coffer ice cream like the recipie suggested, and couldn't get enough of it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
You'd never guess this was made w/o an ice cream freezer. The flavor and texture are wonderful. I added candy pieces to it and also 2 Tbsp. of cocoa for chocolate ice cream. I also made it low-fat by adding fat-free sour cream and used powdereded egg whites instead of raw ones. Unbelievably creamy for low-fat! Just don't do like I did and make the mistake of not stirring it enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States