Granny's Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Very good recipe. Easy to make and uses simple ingredients. I made my first batch strawberry and substituted strawberry yogurt for the sour cream and added fresh strawberries. My only complaint was I left the strawberries cut into big chunks, when they froze it was like having ice cubes in my ice cream. Next time I will cut them smaller or puree. This ice cream has a good flavor, but is not as creamy as other ice creams made with cream. I stirred it every 30 min as the recipe suggested and it was a tad bit icy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
SO FUN TO MAKE! My kids and I had a great time making this. For our first try, we made vanilla, but we will expand our ice cream flavor ideas. So sweet and really yummy. A keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Amazing recipie! I used 1/3 cup reduced fat sour cream, 1/3 cup strawberry yogurt, and 1/2 cup of diced strawberries. Makes excellent strawberry ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Very good just as is. I didn't have an ice cream machine to make it in, but it still had a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shlee
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This recipe was amazing. I added mint extract, green food coloring and chocolate chips to make a chocolate mint ice cream and everyone loved it. I am now in the middle of making a cappucinno ice cream with instant coffee and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coaldale, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Apple Jacks
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This recipe is excellent for those of us without a fully equipped kitchen. Even though I had to beat my eggs in a pot because I have neither metal nor glass mixing bowls, we were able to enjoy homemade low-fat cookies n' cream ice cream within a few hours. Its not exactly like the kind you would find at a parlor, but we like it just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
really easy & suprisingly very ice creamy! i used 6 oz light yogurt ilo sour cream, and added canned peaches. stirred every 30 mins for about 2 hours & then it was frozen. as it was freezing it tasted like cool whip and i began to get a little disappointed, but now that it's totally frozen, it really tastes like ice cream! and pretty healthy too compared to ice cream you buy in a store. we'll see what my friends at our july 4th cookout think... thanks, daphna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Extremely simple, came out exactly how I wanted it. Creamy and sweet - perfect! I added Dulce de leche caramel dipping sauce, about 1/4 cup --- amazing!!! Will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This was surprisingly good! I used half sour cream & half vanilla yogurt & added mini-chocolate chips. I made sure to stir it every 30 minutes & it came out pretty creamy. I'm going to make up another batch this weekend & make the rum raisin this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
We didn't really like this. It was really lacking in flavor, creaminess, texture etc. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States