Granny's Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I am making this right now and am really impressed. Was skeptical that you could make ice cream without any actual cream or milk. It's not quite done freezing yet, but I've tasted it and it very much reminds me of a fat free vanilla frozen yogurt. I reduced the amount of sour cream (reduced fat), to 1/2 a cup, due to reviews on here that said it tasted "sour". I also added chopped mini Reeses cups left over from Easter. So far my only complaint is it doesn't make enough. Double the recipe if you want a large batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Just made a batch with strawberry. I had my doubt about the sour cream, but it worked. It made an awesome ice cream. (I used splenda instead of sugar, but otherwise followed the recipe to a T).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was a great, easy ice cream! I added chocolate syrup and marshmallows. I didn't have an ice cream freezer so I mixed it every half hour or so. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This was absolutely delicious. My family wanted ice cream and I didn't have any of the usual ingredients. I found this recipe, whipped it up and threw it in our ice cream maker and we had yummy, homemade ice cream in less than a half hour. Thank you for posting! I am going to try different flavors and make it again soon. It was a hit with my whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Excellent! Simple and tasty. I didn't even use the vanilla called for in this recipe, just fresh chopped strawberries. My kids loved it too! Very impressed by the simplicity and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This recipe does oddly make something that appears like an ice cream. It however, tastes a little more like frozen yogurt, but has the texture of frozen yogurt mixed with cool whip. It was just too tart for my taste buds. The only change I made was using non fat plain yogurt instead of the sour cream. I noticed others did that to. I tried the coffee flavor, in the footnotes, and added a spoon of mini chips. The tartness and coffee didn't go together in my opinion. I think I would have preferred chocolate or mint chocolate chip. After 1 1/2 hours of stirring, every 30 minutes, it was still soft. It takes a good 5 hours to completely freeze. One person that tried it said, ooh ice cream and then asked why it was tart and why it didn't melt to a milk on the toungue. Mine did have some ice crystals, but I didn't stir it after the 3rd time. I am not sure why, but I just got a tart frozen cool whip in a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was wonderful!! it was smooth and creamy loved it!! thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Very Very good and simple. Cinnamon oil makes it very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was amazing! I made a triple batch using 9 eggs total (because that's what I had on hand), and 3 times 2/3 cup sour cream and it turned out great! One batch was vanilla flavored, the other was chocolate (added 2tbs cocoa), and the third was coffee flavored (added 1tsp instant coffee). It turned out great, with the coffee flavored one being by far the best for my taste :) Will be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I made this ice cream last week with my husband. It was very easy to make, but it took way more than 2 hours to freeze it. (Could be my freezer, though.) I put it in the freezer and stirred every 30 minutes for 4 hours and it still wasn't done. So, we went to bed (so I didn't stir it anymore) and when we woke up it was frozen. It was a tad crystallized because of not stirring, but it tasted pretty good. We just did vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Monticello, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States