Granny's Homemade Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
My family has made these noodles for Thanksgiving for over 60 years. The baking powder is new to me, but gave the noodles a lighter texture. I agree that you don't want to knead them too much or they will not be as tender. We cook them in broth from our turkey, and supplement that with chicken broth. We like the extra flour on the noodles to thicken the broth as they cook, because we pour ours over the cornbread dressing or mashed potatoes. I know this is starch over starch, but Thanksgiving only comes once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypuddin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Simple and easy to make and tastes great. I wrapped my dough in plastic wrap and let it rest for an hour before putting it through my pasta maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Fantastic! Very easy to make. For all of you that say too dry... You've never made noodles. It always starts flaky and dry until you kneed it many times. If you don't want to put in the effort then buy pre-made noodles :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Hansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
absolutely the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Great recipe. I did have to add a little extra water though, but no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCombs Clegg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Perfect, thanks. I was looking for something different than the usual store bought Fettuccini Noodles to use with my Beef Stroganoff. This recipe was awesome, it gave new life to my Stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I make these quite often, I have a noodle cutter, it rolls over the dough and cuts it into 5 strips about 1/2 inch wide. I too double boil the noodles, first in water to take out the cloudiness, and then they go into either chicken or beef broth. Or sometimes if I am making chicken with vegetables, instead of making dumplings I will put in the noodles, and these I do not double boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is pretty much the same recipe I've used for years to make all sorts, shapes and sizes of pasta. The rule I learned from my husband's aunt is to use 1 egg per person you expect to serve, add other ingredients to accommodate any additional eggs. I have also learned that weather plays a big role in getting the right consistency in the dough ... too humid out, takes longer to dry. Lastly, I agree with the comment by alexislm001 to double boil. On rare occasions when I did not have the time to do this, my soup got cloudy and it seemed to thicken up whatever sauce I served the noodles in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nolan Dole
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
These turned out great! I used them to make some chicken noodle soup, and let them dry all night so they'd absorb a maximum amount of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolan Dole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Great recipe! I have always made them guessing at the amounts. But this works way better. Also a tip to cutting the noodles. Do not cut them until after the drying time. If the dough is still slightly sticky rub a thin layer of flour on top. Next roll into a tube. With a sharp knife slice to desired thickness. Then unroll them all and you get a nice pile of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairborn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States