Granny's Corn Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I thought these were really good--great taste, the dough was easy to work with and roll out. However, I think dogwood17 was absolutely correct, it takes awhile for these to brown, and if you are hungry and get impatient, they might not be as good. Once my griddle was heated enough and I was patient, they browned up very nicely. My 2yo really enjoyed these, also. He calls any tortilla like flat-bread 'rollie' (I guess because he helps me roll it out). And another note...there is almost no fat in this recipe! Except for the margarine you use to grease the griddle, there isn't any butter or shortening in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
These were really good! I used a cast iron skillet heated on high to cook and that works better than a skillet. Watch out though, they cook really fast. Also I waited a little to long during the "resting" period to roll out and it dried out a little so I just wet my fingers a little with some warm water and rubbed a little on them before rolling and that worked pretty well. Family really liked them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
very quick and good recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Hey folks, my boyfriend's Mexican grandmother makes about 5 dozen tortillas a week. She takes an afternoon to make them: to keep dough from drying out during the rolling process, first form all the dough balls and pat them down into thick circles with your hands, set them next to one another on the counter and cover with a damp dish towel. She cooks the rolled out tortillas on a flat cast iron circular plate that I think she popped out of the top of an old cast iron stove. She just places the circle on top of a burner, and then cooks the tortillas on top of that. I bought a cast iron skillet, since it seems that the cast iron is important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
These tortilias are awesome, I will never buy shells from the store again. When I pan fried them I added a little olive oil to the pan and flipped it right away to get good coverage on both sides. I have impressed many with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Fantastic! Great taste! Used whole wheat flour instead of white. It wasn't working for me to press them out between wax paper like I usually do with my tortilla press for another recipe I use, so I used 2 pieces of a ziplock bag (cut apart). Then, it worked beautifully! I'll make 'em again! Simple! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
These tortillas are great. They are sturdy tortillas that stand up to filling. I used the damp towel idea for covering the tortillas and that worked well. I did have a couple of them get hard around the edges, but I think its just because I cooked them too long. My family was a little hestitant at first, but loved them. In fact my son used them the next day with his eggs. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Delicious tortillas. Easy recipe. The dough was a touch dry, but nothing that can't be worked out. I added some finely minced jalapeno to the dough for a bit of a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I wanted to make burritos for supper and had everything except for the tortillas so I decided to make them myself, something I had never done. I came across this recipe and thought I would try it. It was quick and the tortillas turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
these are sooo much better than the dry tasteless supermarket ones.the secret to these is not to over cook, cook only til small brown spots appear, keep dough covered with damp towel while rolling out.i covered them with saran as each one was cooked, has anyone tried them with all white flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States