Granny's Corn Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2000
The Kids loved them. Much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This was excellent, very quick and easy with delicious results. Am going to try adding flavourings next time, perhaps chilli, cheese or tomato & coriander (cilantro)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This tasted great, but I had to add a whole lot more water to hold it together, and it was still very brittle and dry when I rolled it out, and cracked a lot at the edges. It was more 'crisp' than tortilla-like, but I think with practice, I'll get this one right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This was pretty easy and the tortillas are great once you get the hang of it. My problem was that cooking the tortillas on high created a huge amount of smoke in my kitchen even with the fan on! I think either making all the tortillas ahead of time or using a press would make it easier so you could watch the cooking instead of making more tortillas. But for my first time I'm pretty impressed with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
These were easy to make and had a good flavor, but were a bit chewy...did I do something wrong, perhaps??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Nice! Very simple to make and tasty. Frying them in a pan makes them a little bit stiff, so I may experiment with baking or something to try to get a more flexible tortilla. But, very tasty and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
These were really good! I used a cast iron skillet heated on high to cook and that works better than a skillet. Watch out though, they cook really fast. Also I waited a little to long during the "resting" period to roll out and it dried out a little so I just wet my fingers a little with some warm water and rubbed a little on them before rolling and that worked pretty well. Family really liked them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
very quick and good recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Hey folks, my boyfriend's Mexican grandmother makes about 5 dozen tortillas a week. She takes an afternoon to make them: to keep dough from drying out during the rolling process, first form all the dough balls and pat them down into thick circles with your hands, set them next to one another on the counter and cover with a damp dish towel. She cooks the rolled out tortillas on a flat cast iron circular plate that I think she popped out of the top of an old cast iron stove. She just places the circle on top of a burner, and then cooks the tortillas on top of that. I bought a cast iron skillet, since it seems that the cast iron is important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Great recipe! Tip for those with dry tortillas: remember the older your flour and cornmeal get, the more liquid they will need to get the right consistency for the dough. Freshly ground flour/cornmeal will need less liquid. If 1 cup of water produced a dry tough dough, next batch try using an extra tablespoon of water and see if your results are better. Good luck, thanks to the original poster for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CONSCIOUSTAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States