Granny's Corn Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
These tortillas are great. They are sturdy tortillas that stand up to filling. I used the damp towel idea for covering the tortillas and that worked well. I did have a couple of them get hard around the edges, but I think its just because I cooked them too long. My family was a little hestitant at first, but loved them. In fact my son used them the next day with his eggs. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
These weren't at all what I expected, and they were a bit tough due to the half cornmeal... I don't think I will make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Fantastic! Great taste! Used whole wheat flour instead of white. It wasn't working for me to press them out between wax paper like I usually do with my tortilla press for another recipe I use, so I used 2 pieces of a ziplock bag (cut apart). Then, it worked beautifully! I'll make 'em again! Simple! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
These tortilias are awesome, I will never buy shells from the store again. When I pan fried them I added a little olive oil to the pan and flipped it right away to get good coverage on both sides. I have impressed many with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Great recipe! Tip for those with dry tortillas: remember the older your flour and cornmeal get, the more liquid they will need to get the right consistency for the dough. Freshly ground flour/cornmeal will need less liquid. If 1 cup of water produced a dry tough dough, next batch try using an extra tablespoon of water and see if your results are better. Good luck, thanks to the original poster for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CONSCIOUSTAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Hey folks, my boyfriend's Mexican grandmother makes about 5 dozen tortillas a week. She takes an afternoon to make them: to keep dough from drying out during the rolling process, first form all the dough balls and pat them down into thick circles with your hands, set them next to one another on the counter and cover with a damp dish towel. She cooks the rolled out tortillas on a flat cast iron circular plate that I think she popped out of the top of an old cast iron stove. She just places the circle on top of a burner, and then cooks the tortillas on top of that. I bought a cast iron skillet, since it seems that the cast iron is important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
very quick and good recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
These were really good! I used a cast iron skillet heated on high to cook and that works better than a skillet. Watch out though, they cook really fast. Also I waited a little to long during the "resting" period to roll out and it dried out a little so I just wet my fingers a little with some warm water and rubbed a little on them before rolling and that worked pretty well. Family really liked them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Nice! Very simple to make and tasty. Frying them in a pan makes them a little bit stiff, so I may experiment with baking or something to try to get a more flexible tortilla. But, very tasty and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
These were easy to make and had a good flavor, but were a bit chewy...did I do something wrong, perhaps??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States