Granny's Corn Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I decided to take a chance with this recipe because it had some good reviews. However, when I followed the recipe my tortillas were very dry and lacked flavor(something that some of the other reviews complained about). Maybe I did something wrong. But I wont be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
What did I do wrong? Mine are so dry, everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Great recipe, didnt change a thing. This is my go-to recipe for flour tortillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I cut the recipe in half and tortillas came out great. I think they were a little to thick for rolling into enchiladas, but that was my fault. Next time I'll roll them thinner before grilling in the pan. The flavor was great though and I'll definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
The texture of the dough was crumbly dry and hard to work with, I followed the recipe to the T. It did not roll out well into circles. Was disapointed will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I just didn't like these. They had almost no flavor and the texture was way off. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This was my first attempt at any type of tortilla and I must say I was impressed! I agree that only a very little bit of oil is necessary and over cooking creates hard tortillas (oops!). I'm hoping the enchiladas I made these for will be just a good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
If you are looking for the flavor of corn or flour tortillas this is not for you. They are dry due to the corn. I made a burrito with them. Very good reminded me of a tamale. Very easy to make. Those that have had problems with them, you need to keep the dough moist and knead it very well. After rolling the balls of dough I covered with a very hot moist towel while they sat 15 min. Rolled out easier than pie crust (be sure you use very little flour to roll them). When I browned them I once again covered with a moist hot towel. Everyone liked them especially with a fruit jam spread on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Effingham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I thought these were really good--great taste, the dough was easy to work with and roll out. However, I think dogwood17 was absolutely correct, it takes awhile for these to brown, and if you are hungry and get impatient, they might not be as good. Once my griddle was heated enough and I was patient, they browned up very nicely. My 2yo really enjoyed these, also. He calls any tortilla like flat-bread 'rollie' (I guess because he helps me roll it out). And another note...there is almost no fat in this recipe! Except for the margarine you use to grease the griddle, there isn't any butter or shortening in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Everyone loved them over the all flour ones that I made, they were a hit, had to make more. I will try the next batch with all white flour, see what happens. My other ALL flour recipe had lard in it, so it will be interesting how my next try with this recipe, with out the corn meal, will turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a453k

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States