Granny's Corn Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Not very good. Husband liked them as chips, not as tortillas tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
These weren't bad. I made them for the first time today and though it may just have been me, they came out a bit brittle; they weren't quite foldable. All in all however, I found them to be tasty enough as did my children. I had one left over and I brushed some cinnamon and sugar on it and a few dabs of honey then rolled it up and fried it with a little honey on the outside. That was quite good there. I'll make these again likely enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
From what I read of the reviews some people say they are too dry and some people say they come out perfect. Maybe, this recipe is like making fudge. Maybe it turns out perfect on a rainy day and too dry on a normal one. I am in the middle of making this and it seems to break around the edges when rolling out. I just added more water and it stuck to my waxed paper even though I sprayed it with cooking oil. I'll have to check to see if I have a gallon zip lock bag. I believe what I used was corn flour which I got at the Co-op but, it has a consistency more like corn meal than flour. Maybe I made a mistake. I have wanted for a long time to make fahitas from scratch since they don't sell the really big sized corn fahitas at the store, just tortillias. And the tortillias always have this god awful smell. Maybe from the preservatives in them and everything is made with GM corn nowadays so, I will continue to try to make my own. I will make sure I have a finely ground corn flour next time. Oh yeah, I did ad a couple of tbsp. of Olive oil thinking it would keep these from crumbling at the edges and it did with the wetter ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Thanks for sharing this recipe with us, Kim! We love these tortillas! We make them into chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Not quite what I was looking for. It ends up so grainy with the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
These were simple and just what was needed : tortillas for a quesadilla recipe tommorrow. I wanted something easy which required no added fat. Here are tips I followed: *Keeping it moist - evaded problems due to making sure the dough was always covered with a damp cloth. *Easy cooking: I used a cast iron skillet and PAM cooking spray. *Bagging to keep moisture - Putting the finished tortillas in bags immediately made them moist and plyable *Working fast : As one tortilla cooked, I was bagging the finished one and rolling out the next My cornmeal was a bit old but I still got a subtle corny flavor out of it. They will probably be even better made with fresher ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Way too gritty with corn meal. Perhaps with masa harina... I will try another recipe. My family won't eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Excellent! Very easy to make. I needed corn chips to eat with my hummus. I followed the recipe exactly, but had to leave about 2 or 3T of water out. Before cooking on an electric griddle (as I do my flour tortillas) I used a pizza cutter to cut them into 8 triangles & cooked until almost crisp. YUM! Next time I may just leave them whole & break into pieces, but they looked so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jimmy IV
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These were good, but not quite what I had hoped. This may have been something I did wrong but for some reason these turned out very stiff after letting them achieve the slightest browning. If I pulled them off the pan before they turned stiff you could taste that they were not done. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I never thought tortillas would be this easy! i read lots of reviews before attempting this and i watched you-tube. But i have to say the end product is very good. I didnt put 1 1/2 cup of corn meal into then.. i did 1 cup and then 1 1/2 all purpose flour after i got it mixed well i added 1/4 cup cornmeal and tryed working it in. From there i had a warm damp cloth i layed in bowl and broke the bow down into 12 balls. Then i took my counter top and dusted it with all purpose flour and dumped the remining cornmeal onto the flour counter top. Then took each ball one at time rolling it better round, patting it flat the used my rolling pin to roll them out. you have to turn your tortilla after each time you roll. When cooking its easy to over cook them, just look for the little bubbles on each side, dont wait tell there turly goden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Y.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States