Granny's Corn Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Hey folks, my boyfriend's Mexican grandmother makes about 5 dozen tortillas a week. She takes an afternoon to make them: to keep dough from drying out during the rolling process, first form all the dough balls and pat them down into thick circles with your hands, set them next to one another on the counter and cover with a damp dish towel. She cooks the rolled out tortillas on a flat cast iron circular plate that I think she popped out of the top of an old cast iron stove. She just places the circle on top of a burner, and then cooks the tortillas on top of that. I bought a cast iron skillet, since it seems that the cast iron is important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Great recipe! Tip for those with dry tortillas: remember the older your flour and cornmeal get, the more liquid they will need to get the right consistency for the dough. Freshly ground flour/cornmeal will need less liquid. If 1 cup of water produced a dry tough dough, next batch try using an extra tablespoon of water and see if your results are better. Good luck, thanks to the original poster for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CONSCIOUSTAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
If you are looking for the flavor of corn or flour tortillas this is not for you. They are dry due to the corn. I made a burrito with them. Very good reminded me of a tamale. Very easy to make. Those that have had problems with them, you need to keep the dough moist and knead it very well. After rolling the balls of dough I covered with a very hot moist towel while they sat 15 min. Rolled out easier than pie crust (be sure you use very little flour to roll them). When I browned them I once again covered with a moist hot towel. Everyone liked them especially with a fruit jam spread on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Effingham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
By adjusting,I made the perfect tortillas. 2.5 cups flour, and only 1/2 cup cornmeal. 3 Tbsp.oil, 1 tsp. salt, 1 Tbsp. baking powder, 1 cup water. Rest 10 min. These rolled out perfectly, and made 10. Less cornmeal, they didn't fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Fantastic! Great taste! Used whole wheat flour instead of white. It wasn't working for me to press them out between wax paper like I usually do with my tortilla press for another recipe I use, so I used 2 pieces of a ziplock bag (cut apart). Then, it worked beautifully! I'll make 'em again! Simple! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
These were really good! I used a cast iron skillet heated on high to cook and that works better than a skillet. Watch out though, they cook really fast. Also I waited a little to long during the "resting" period to roll out and it dried out a little so I just wet my fingers a little with some warm water and rubbed a little on them before rolling and that worked pretty well. Family really liked them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jimmy IV
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These were good, but not quite what I had hoped. This may have been something I did wrong but for some reason these turned out very stiff after letting them achieve the slightest browning. If I pulled them off the pan before they turned stiff you could taste that they were not done. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This was excellent, very quick and easy with delicious results. Am going to try adding flavourings next time, perhaps chilli, cheese or tomato & coriander (cilantro)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This is a very easy recipe. To me it's like really thin cornbread. My kids had them for a snack. I hadn't even finished cooking them when they were asking for them and they really enjoyed them. DH who does not like cornbread thought they were pretty good. I like tortillas that do not break when you roll them and the way I made these they did break but not too bad. I usually check the reviews to see if someone suggests an adjustment to the recipe but I didn't this time so I made the recipe exactly as written. I may make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This tasted great, but I had to add a whole lot more water to hold it together, and it was still very brittle and dry when I rolled it out, and cracked a lot at the edges. It was more 'crisp' than tortilla-like, but I think with practice, I'll get this one right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States