Granny's Corn Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Turned out hard and not very tasty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I FOLLOWED THIS RECIPE STEP BY STEP WAITED THE MINUTES NECESSERY FOR IT TO REST.... DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS RECIPE... :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Potatoes Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Different but good, if you have access to a Mexican goods or grocery store and make tortillas often, invest in a "comal" to cook these on. It's like a cast iron skillet without the sides :); they also make the long ones that resembe a flat griddle.http://www.mexgrocer.com/9115.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
How FUN! I'm a novice in the kitchen but gave these a try anyway without making any changes. I agree with another post; I was concerned they would be dry as I rolled them out but they were not. I had no issue with sticking; I rolled them out on a floured glass cutting board and they came right off. A litte coconut oil in the cast iron skillet and they were perfect! My toddler loves them, too, and I'm thrilled whenever I can cook with real ingredients instead of giving her processed from the grocery store. I just need to learn to make a better circle now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAISLEYANNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because I could not manage this batter enough to roll it out. It was not thin enough for me and it kept wanting to fall apart. Once frustrated, I just watered it down and dropped it by runny quarter cups into my greased fry pan and twirled the pan to get it even. Turned out awesome, way more manageable. I used this for tamales. Also, I added a can of creamed corn to half of it and made corn pancakes. It was great. I'll be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Didn't work for me at all, . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLR1331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Was not able to remove from surface after rolling even with a well floured surface. Had to use a dough scraper to remove & then finish shaping by hand. Had no flavor. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I added more water than called for and gave it a few minutes to absorb before kneading. I found that cooking the tortillas until they got brown spots just cooked too much of the moisture out of them. The one that I had thought was underdone was actually the most pliable, and it was still too chewy to be enjoyable. If I make these again I will add a spoonful of oil to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Toulouse, Midi-Pyrénées, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I much prefer these corn tortillas to store-bought. The flavor is kind of earthy and they smell great. Unfortunately on my first try I didn't roll them out thin enough; they would split when folded over. I also ended up leaving at least 1/2 cup of dry mix out of the dough because it was just so dry it couldn't incorporate. All in all, these are time-consuming but probably worth it for truly special occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I am extremely pleased with how these turned out. I waited until the resting period to read the other reviews, and was really nervous that these would be really dry. Even as I rolled them out, I found myself wishing I had a mexican grandmother to teach me how to do it right! But as each one was rolled, I got better at it, and found I didn't need any flour at all to roll them. I used spray cooking oil to fry them with. I did cut off the edges by tracing a plate with a knife before I fried them(I don't have a tortilla press) Maybe that helped with the dryness that I was afraid would happen. I will make these again, and maybe try adding some spice to see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States