Granny's Corn Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I could not flatten into circle by hand mixture was to tough to work with.The end result was a hard to chew tortilla.I think it could have been better with lees corn meal for sure and maybe a little bit more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Wonderful recipe. I increased the baking powder to 1 Tbsp, added 1/4 cup oil. Let sit for 10 minutes after kneading. Rolled very thin, cooked in an iron skillet. Made 10 tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pilot Point, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I soaked the cornmeal in the 110 degree water for an hour before adding the other ingredients plus 1 TBSP of water. It rendered about ten 2 1/2 ounce balls of dough. The dough was definitely not dry and was very pliable. I rolled each ball out between a gallon sized Ziplock bag. I did cheat and use a little spray oil though to keep it from sticking. I wouldn't say the end result of these cornmeal tortillas are as versatile as a soft flour or corn flour tortilla because they're a little tough. But I made these specifically for use in making enchiladas where corn flour tortillas tend to be a little too fragile. I let these tortillas soak in the enchilada sauce for a few seconds until it was pliable enough to assemble the enchiladas. Tasted great and held up well! I'll always use this recipe for enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Im sorry these were the worse tortillas I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These were fun and easy to make. My dd comment was she didn't know you could MAKE them! Although she didn't like them my hubby and I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
These were excellent. I swore i would never buy premade tortillas again. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I really like this recipe. I substituted 1/4 cup of vegetable oil and only used 3/4 of a cup of water and I found the texture of the tortillas to be just about right. I would use 1 tablespoon of salt next time, but other than that the flavor was fine. I was able to use my tortilla press instead of rolling them and I used waxed paper to keep the dough from sticking to the press. They are definitely thicker than store-bought tortillas but the flavor makes up for the thickness, which I like anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Awesome as is!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrol J. Unruh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
My mom made these today because she ran out of corn tortillas when making green chile chicken enchiladas. Her only change was to add 3/4 tsp salt. After separating the dough into 11 balls, she covered it with a damp paper towel for 10 minutes. She rolled the dough in-between a large zip lock bag cut in half (thanks Rindy for that useful tip) and cooked them on a cast iron pan. Initially I would have given these maybe 3 or 4 stars because they came out a little dry and not bad, but just different. After tasting them in the enchiladas, they were wonderful! They soaked up some moisture and fluffed up a little and just had a great flavor. We had both these & the store bought ones in the same dish & these were about 10 times tastier with a much better texture! I don't think these would work too well as tacos or burritos (at least ours wouldn't have) but layered in a dish with some moisture -they're fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
By adjusting,I made the perfect tortillas. 2.5 cups flour, and only 1/2 cup cornmeal. 3 Tbsp.oil, 1 tsp. salt, 1 Tbsp. baking powder, 1 cup water. Rest 10 min. These rolled out perfectly, and made 10. Less cornmeal, they didn't fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States