Granny's Cherokee Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
My mother used to make a recipe called Cherokee Casserole years ago. I asked her for the recipe, but she couldn't remember it. I remembered just about all the ingredients. She looked thru all recipes, came across this one - and it's exactly the same (except we use stewed tomatoes and 1 cup grated cheese). It's a fantastic recipe, tastes great and kids will love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
I changed this recipe a bit and liked it more: I used all fresh ingredients (tomatoes, mushrooms etc) Instead of mushroom soup i used broth and substituted whole wheat grain for the instant grain which makes the whole thing healthier. It was still easy to make and delicious and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
So good but next time I would add more tomato chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
very good! i added 1 can of cut green beans and reduced garlic powder to 1/2 T the first time i tried. i used the full amount on the next try. it does make a lot. i use 2 dispaosable 8 x8 pans and put one unbaked in the freezer for later use. it freezes quite well. great to have on hand when you just don't know what to have for dinner. thanks heather for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
I really like the mix of flavors and texture in this recipe. Very creamy! I altered the recipe a little...Browned ground turkey w/ seasoned salt, italian spice, cumin and paprika, along w/ the onion and some fresh garlic, and then threw in the tomatoes, cooked rice and soup, letting it simmer for a few minutes, before adding shredded cheddar to melt. I did not bake this in the oven; just did it all on the stovetop. It came out great! Very easy and quick, using simple ingredients. Will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This recipe can only be described as THE QUINTESSENTIAL COMFORT FOOD!! My husband and I just loved it!! I made some changes and took advice from one of the previous reviews (Thanks Lilspinster!!). I used Season Salt, Paprika, Cumin, and Hatch Green Chile Powder to season the meat while it was browning. I threw in some minced garlic too. I added corn and black beans to the soup, etc. and cut the thyme and oregano in half. I used a pinch of raw sugar instead of white sugar (raw sugar doesn't have such a sharp flavor). I then topped the dish with four slices of Velveeta instead of American. It's a good thing the recipe makes such a generous amount because my husband ate the majority of the leftovers before I even got up this morning!! I was lucky to have some to bring to work for lunch!! This is a fantastic tummy-warming recipe...already a family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
My husband is picky and he said this was a keeper! It does freeze well and if you need smaller portions just place casserole in two smaller baking dishes and freeze one. I used fresh garlic and subbed original Mrs. Dash for seasonings. Also subbed cheddar for american. Had no instant rice so added 2 cups of cooked rice but drained the tomatoes before adding. My daughter and I thought it was even tasty without the cheese. I like the stove top method idea. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
My entire family loved it- even my daughter who typically hates rice. (She gave it 4 stars.) The only thing I altered from the original recipe is I drained the tomatoes because I used already cooked rice leftover from another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
As usual I needed something easy to make for dinner, and, as usual, I had very little time. Good thing I found this recipe. I did have some leftover cooked rice, and I used that instead of uncooked rice, so I didn't cook it for the 10 minutes before putting it in the oven. Also, I didn't have just plain oregano, so I used Italian seasoning instead. This was very good, and my family all decided I should make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This recipe has now become one of my family's main dishes. We usually have this once a week. Better than Hamburger Helper and the kids love the cheese on top. I use grated cheddar on top instead of the processed slices and I don't put sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States