Granny's Cherokee Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I actually changed this recipe quite a bit also. That's why the three stars. I had to use tomato sauce intead of the diced tomatoes as my son doesn't like chunky tomatoes, and I added 1/2 cup of white wine to the sauce for extra liquid. I also threw in 1 cup of frozen corn and 1 cup frozen cut green beans. I reduced the seasoning to 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp oregano, and 1/2 tsp thyme. Then I used Velveeta, which was a big mistake. Next time I'll use real cheese like cheddar or a mexican blend cheese. I topped it off with about 1 cup of french fried onions sprinkled over all. My family liked it except for the velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
It was an ok recipe but it seemed like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This recipe is a great base to add what you would like. I actually changed it up quite a bit. I used real rice that I cooked while I cooked the ground beef and onions and 'minced' garlic. I omitted the oregano, thyme, and sugar. I added a good amount of salt, pepper, and Red pepper flakes ground through a spice grinder very finely. I used a can of rotel tomatoes (milder) and Cream of mushroom with roasted garlic. I blended everything together and added about a cup of milk so it wouldn't dry out in the oven. I topped it with shredded "mexican" cheese and some shredded 5 Cheese italian. Baked it as directed. It was really good. You could do so much with this recipe. My hubby and I were talking about stuffing tortillas with it, toppin them with the cheese and your choice of salsa or enchilada sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LHUEZO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Amanda L.
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I made this for supper tonite..i made a few changes in the seasonings...i used paprika, garlic powder, salt/pepper and a little bit of chili powder and about 1tbs. of crushed red peppers, also used 1 can of tomatoes with green chilis, this was very good..my husband tasted it and said it was right up his alley, i offered him sour cream to top it off and he said no it was perfect the way it was! Oh yeah, i also used pepperjack and american cheese slices on the top. I will be making this again..Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was good. My husband didn't care for all the cheese. My children and I all liked it, but I don't know if I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I gave this recipe 5 stars for the combination of ease, availability of ingredients, and it tastes pretty good, too! This is a perfect recipe for a busy weeknight. It has quickly become a go-to for me. I everything on hand. The only thing I change - I omit the oregano. Instead I add a teaspoon each of chili powder and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
My very picky two-year-old really like this therefore we gave it 4 stars. Followed the recipe exactly except used less garlic powder, 1 T just seemed like and awful lot. The oregano and tyme did have a stronger flavor than I would've thought with only 1 t each. Husband thought it'd be a good filling for stuffed green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
With a family of 6, I'm lucky to get half to like what I serve. THEY ALL LOVED THIS ONE. I added the garlic, and used colby-jack slices. Pepper Jack would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I don't eat meat, but my hubby and Dad said it was good. I left out the sugar and added corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Loved it! It needed one more can of the soup, but otherwise great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States