Granny's Cherokee Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This recipe is a great base to add what you would like. I actually changed it up quite a bit. I used real rice that I cooked while I cooked the ground beef and onions and 'minced' garlic. I omitted the oregano, thyme, and sugar. I added a good amount of salt, pepper, and Red pepper flakes ground through a spice grinder very finely. I used a can of rotel tomatoes (milder) and Cream of mushroom with roasted garlic. I blended everything together and added about a cup of milk so it wouldn't dry out in the oven. I topped it with shredded "mexican" cheese and some shredded 5 Cheese italian. Baked it as directed. It was really good. You could do so much with this recipe. My hubby and I were talking about stuffing tortillas with it, toppin them with the cheese and your choice of salsa or enchilada sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LHUEZO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2003
I really like the mix of flavors and texture in this recipe. Very creamy! I altered the recipe a little...Browned ground turkey w/ seasoned salt, italian spice, cumin and paprika, along w/ the onion and some fresh garlic, and then threw in the tomatoes, cooked rice and soup, letting it simmer for a few minutes, before adding shredded cheddar to melt. I did not bake this in the oven; just did it all on the stovetop. It came out great! Very easy and quick, using simple ingredients. Will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda L.
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I made this for supper tonite..i made a few changes in the seasonings...i used paprika, garlic powder, salt/pepper and a little bit of chili powder and about 1tbs. of crushed red peppers, also used 1 can of tomatoes with green chilis, this was very good..my husband tasted it and said it was right up his alley, i offered him sour cream to top it off and he said no it was perfect the way it was! Oh yeah, i also used pepperjack and american cheese slices on the top. I will be making this again..Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This recipe has now become one of my family's main dishes. We usually have this once a week. Better than Hamburger Helper and the kids love the cheese on top. I use grated cheddar on top instead of the processed slices and I don't put sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This recipe can only be described as THE QUINTESSENTIAL COMFORT FOOD!! My husband and I just loved it!! I made some changes and took advice from one of the previous reviews (Thanks Lilspinster!!). I used Season Salt, Paprika, Cumin, and Hatch Green Chile Powder to season the meat while it was browning. I threw in some minced garlic too. I added corn and black beans to the soup, etc. and cut the thyme and oregano in half. I used a pinch of raw sugar instead of white sugar (raw sugar doesn't have such a sharp flavor). I then topped the dish with four slices of Velveeta instead of American. It's a good thing the recipe makes such a generous amount because my husband ate the majority of the leftovers before I even got up this morning!! I was lucky to have some to bring to work for lunch!! This is a fantastic tummy-warming recipe...already a family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I have the original recipe which was published in a Minute Rice calendar for 1968. It includes a bay leaf (remove before eating) and 3 sliced stuffed olives (which add an interesting twist and are small enough for kids to eat around) --- and no sugar (where did that come from?). I swirl the tomatoes in the blender for a couple seconds as son hates tomatoes; they disappear nicely. We ate this from 1968 onward; still a hit with the next generation. I love it warmed up for several days after the first take. Amused to see it on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I gave this recipe 5 stars for the combination of ease, availability of ingredients, and it tastes pretty good, too! This is a perfect recipe for a busy weeknight. It has quickly become a go-to for me. I everything on hand. The only thing I change - I omit the oregano. Instead I add a teaspoon each of chili powder and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
Very tasty! I added canned mushrooms and used grated cheddar and jack cheese instead of American. My husband and I loved it - was even tastier the next day for lunch. Not sure about 12 servings though, we got about 4 out of it as a main dish. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZWILDCATFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
If you don't like oregeno, leave it out or skip this recipe. I never realized how much I don't like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
While this is by no means a gourmet meal, it is a kid pleasing easy meal!!! My family of five all happily chowed down on this and let me tell you that doesn't happen often. I only have a handful of meals that everyone will eat without complaining and now I can thankfully add one more. This is just a perfect meal for a busy family because it is so easy. I have to say it reminds me of the filling of stuffed peppers which is a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States