Granny's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I followed the recipe and the only change was that I left them in the oven about 70 minutes. I loved them!! They were VERY rich and chocolatey. These weren't meant to be cakey brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Very buttery...I would use a little less butter, but otherwise very good and fudgey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
These were good! However, I used cocoa powder and melted butter instead of baking sqaures. I also increased the temp to 350 and baked for 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
We were not too impressed with these. Baking them at 250 did not work, the edges were super crispy and the center was still uncooked. The flavor was mild and a little too sweet...not even close to chocolatey enough. I will not be making these again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I cooked these as directed @ 250F and they were starting to burn on the edge and were still batter in the middle. I tried again putting them in at 350F and less time and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I just baked this evening. Followed suggestions of others reviewers (increasing temperature and adding 2 tbs of cocoa). This is just ok for me. The surface cracked too much and it's a bit dry. Maybe it's a fault of my oven (i used convection) and not the recipe. May try it next time and decrease amount of flour and baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Perfection... After reading several recipes and reviews I decided to try this one because it was the first recipe I'd ever seen that uses brown sugar. I was skeptical so I used 1 cup brown and 1 cup white sugar to be safe. I was out of butter so I used margarine instead. I also added two tablespoons of Dutch Cocoa and a splash of cold coffee for an extra kick. I was leary about the temp so I used 350 degrees and baked for 30 mins using a 9 by 11 in. pan. I discovered this is the identical recipe as Baker's and Hershey's (on the unsweetened chocolate box) with the exception of the brown sugar. For the first time in my life I had perfect brownies! I will never use a mix again. These took some time but they were worth it, absolutely perfect! Gooey inside and crispy outside just the way a perfect brownie should be. One day I will try the recipe in it's orginal form. I can't wait for my kids to try these. I am topping them with homemade chocolate frosting and m&m's at their request!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
These are fantastic! I questioned the oven temp and time but always use the recipe exactly as written the first time. Next time I will try 300 as 250 did not cook in a hour. I read all the reviews and it is difficult to understand how these could be horrible, dry or cakey! These are, though, definitely only for those that like rich, fudgey, very chocolate brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
These brownies were tasteless and chalky and I followed the recipe to a T but the were not good at all. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
I quite like these brownies. Stuff I changed. 1.sugar reduced to 1cup. 2.two tablespoons of cocoa added to the flour. they turned out fine.but they are rather greasy so I'll reduce the amount of butter the next time.it's kinda cakey but not too light.but it doesn't have the dense kind of texture I want to get in my brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States