Granny's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe, I added pecans instead of walnuts to at my families request and one more square of chocolate. They were oh so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
The texture is great - gooey in the middle and crispy on top. But they are too sweet - not chocolaty enough! I would try them again this time using 1.5 times the chocolate. Maybe even 2x the chocolate. You can see from the picture that the brownies are a light caramel color - and they should be a dark chocolaty brown~! I used a glass pan instead of metal. Too bad there is so much confusion with the time and temperature.... I just sort of winged it. I like my brownies really gooey and not cake-like so the undercooked-ness of them was okay for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I'm sorry but I can only give this 2 stars because there was definitely something wrong with the temperature or baking time or something. My first mistake was to forego reading the reviews and I would have found out it was an issue. I will make again using reviewer suggestions and re-rate if the result is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Caldwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is a pretty balanced brownie recipe. I think the brown sugar adds a lot of flavor. I made these for my spanish class and they all loved them, though I did over bake them a bit( I baked them at 350 ) but that is fixable. I also added some chocolate frosting too!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
DO NOT USE AN 8X8 PAN!! Of course it'll take hours to bake at that size... I followed Linda's mods: Half granulated / half brown sugars, added 2 tbs cocoa, a splash of coffee. I baked 'em at 325 (was roasting a chicken at that temp, as well) and the edges... Oh the edges were charred by the time the middle was "Set". Now, the middle was good - fudgey and delicious, but my whole brownie experience lies within the 'edge' pieces for the texture contrast. I didn't get it from this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Good recipe. Want to really serve a special and different brownie, though? Take your favorite recipe (I swear by the "Silver Pallette" version), but substitute Mexican chocolate for regular chocolate, and chopped toasted hazlenuts for the normal nuts. The Mexican chocolate has a touch of cinnamon in it, and is less sweet, so you might up the sugar in the recipe if you like your brownies sugary. I moved into a house where previous housemates had left these ingredients in the pantry, and made these brownies from a frugal "what the heck" place. Friends still talk about them. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These brownies are everything a brownie should be. The only thing I changed was to bake them for 60 minutes at 250 and another 15 minutes at 325. I will definetly make this my favorite brownie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
These have a great thick chocolatey flavor but mine didn't realy ever get solid. As per other poster's suggestions I cooked them at 300 for 45 min and the outside started to get crispy and almost burned, the toothpick came out clean from one end to the other but when i cut them they were still goopy. I put them in the fridge which helped them solidify a bit. Great flavor, just not great baking directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
decent home-made brownies...i only made them because I didn't have a box mix, but they were almost as good. based on some of the other reviews I cooked them at 350 for 45 minutes and covered the edges for the last 15 minutes. I also cooked them in a round pan, which helps keep the corners from being over-cooked. I also didn't have chocolate cubes so I mixed 1/2 cup butter with 4 tablespoons coco powder. Also someone said that it wasn't sweet or chocolaty enough so I added a nice sized squirt of chocolate syrup. They came out tasty and soft, except the edges were still slightly over-done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I made this recipe according to the original recipe, less 1/8 cup butter, as others said it was too greasy. The batter still tasted bland, so I tried adding more chocolate and some peanut butter. If I made this again I would try more nuts, more chocolate, less sugar, still add peanut butter, and add more four. Overall, not a very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States